Hot Banana Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
WOW!!! This was soooo good! We used a jalapeno instead of the habanero. We served it with Jay's Jerk Chicken skewered and grilled and a bed of basmati rice. This is one of the most unique and delicious recipes we have tried from Allrecipes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
doubled recipe - it can go quickly. nice blending of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was great, though I left out the sugar because it was sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was a little funky at first but once the bananas blended in it tasted good. It was gone by the end of the night, I served it with lime chips I tried to find cinnamon chips but couldn't. It would be good over fish. I blended half of it to make it more salsa like. IT was really good before I added the banana too. I tried it over coconut couscous with shrimp yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I served this with homemade cilantro-lime flax crackers, and it was a nice change. I pulsed it in the food processor to a chunky consistency. The market was out of habaneros, so I used a jalapeno and some roasted green chile, but it wasn't hot enough for me. You'll definitely need the habanero if you want this salsa hot. I thought the banana blended right in; it was the ginger that stood out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I also used a jalapeno instead and would up the sugar just a teeny bit more next time. The banana is such an unexpected treat in this spicy salsa! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serafina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I made this as a topping for some Jamaican Jerk pork skewers that we grilled. It was quite interesting! Two changes only: I used a jalapeno instead, and I used roasted red peppers (in a jar) because I forgot the red bell pepper at the store. People seemed to enjoy it. A fine dice is very important for this salsa. I also recommend adding the bananas and cilantro just before serving, as things tend to get a bit soupy from the acidic lime juice. Thanks for something new and fresh and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
What flavor! Having said that, I will say that both my fiancé and I felt that the habanero pepper overpowered the wonderful flavor of the salsa. I LOVE spicy food, but even this was a bit much. It was edible, but not as enjoyable as it could have been. Maybe I added too much pepper. Who knows? Next time though, I will use jalapeno peppers or some red pepper flakes just to be on the safe side. The combined flavors of the salsa were absolutely incredible. I served it atop a bed of rice and with Jay’s Jerk Chicken as the main dish. Definitely try this recipe, but pepper it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Loved this recipe! It was so light and refreshing. I used jalepenos instead of habaneros but it was still just spicy enough! This is one of my favorites yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Fresh, healthy and lots of flavor - plus easy to make! I used just 1/2 tsp of the habenero pepper - just right for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States