Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very tasty dressing for a spinach salad. I'll have to cut the recipe in half the next time I make it because it does not reheat well at all after a few days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is awesome! I'm trying to eat more veggies, and this definately helped to get the spinach down! I did add a bit of onion to the bacon as it was cooking. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This dressing was very easy to make and it tastes exactly like the Applebee's dressing which is what I was trying to recreate! I only used 2 bacon slices and cut them up prior to cooking. I also cut the sugar back to 1 cup which worked well. It got much thicker upon sitting so I might take it off the heat a little sooner next time so it wasn't as sticky at the end of the meal. I grilled up some shrimp and tossed them and the dressing with some fresh baby spinach and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Perfect recipe - I will never buy this in the store again since it's so easy to make. I didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Sorry, I didn't much care for this recipe. I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup, as others suggested, but the end result was just way to vinegary and sugary for my taste. I do like the hot bacon dressings served at restaurants, so I think I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Served this last night over a simple spinach salad and really enjoyed it. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup and subbed cider vinegar. I did not add salt since bacon is already salty enough for us. I used a bit of the bacon grease for flavoring and sprinkled the bacon on the salad rather than mixed in the dressing. It was very simple and will use again. May try it with balsamic vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
We had this last night for the first time. I had never heard of a dressing like this. It was good but not somthing I think I would want often. Nice change for an occasional treat. I used 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda but I think I would cut back to 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda next time. We served ours over lettuce wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elite99999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe! I needed one with a little less sugar so I reduced the 8 serving amount to 1/3 cup. The recipe still worked & tasted great - just keep in mind the reduction time takes a little longer when you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is a great dressing to put on a spinach salad. I agree with many that the sugar should be cut way back. I used 1/4 c sugar and 1/4 c "splenda" the second time I made this, and it was so much better! I'll use this dressing many times this summer, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was great and I think a lot like Applebees. I only used 1 1/4 cups sugar, some of the bacon grease and added a little more cornstarch since it didn't seem to get thick. I served it over spinich with grilled shrimp and chopped red onion, roasted red pepper and toasted almond slices. UMMMM. I will be making this a lot! Thanks for the recipe. Now I don't have to go to Applebees to satisfy my craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States