Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't give it 5 stars only because of the sugar content. I altered the recipe to only 1/2 cup sugar and used cider vinegar instead. This with some almonds, roasted red peppers and shrimp tossed with spinach leaves was the most amazing salad! We love Applebee's salad so much and we can't be happier to have found a dressing that comes so very close! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe like this for awhile. It is SOOO YUMMY! I wanted one that was easy and with ingredients I already had. Taste like the version you get in the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very tasty dressing for a spinach salad. I'll have to cut the recipe in half the next time I make it because it does not reheat well at all after a few days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is awesome! I'm trying to eat more veggies, and this definately helped to get the spinach down! I did add a bit of onion to the bacon as it was cooking. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This dressing was very easy to make and it tastes exactly like the Applebee's dressing which is what I was trying to recreate! I only used 2 bacon slices and cut them up prior to cooking. I also cut the sugar back to 1 cup which worked well. It got much thicker upon sitting so I might take it off the heat a little sooner next time so it wasn't as sticky at the end of the meal. I grilled up some shrimp and tossed them and the dressing with some fresh baby spinach and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Perfect recipe - I will never buy this in the store again since it's so easy to make. I didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Sorry, I didn't much care for this recipe. I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup, as others suggested, but the end result was just way to vinegary and sugary for my taste. I do like the hot bacon dressings served at restaurants, so I think I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Served this last night over a simple spinach salad and really enjoyed it. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup and subbed cider vinegar. I did not add salt since bacon is already salty enough for us. I used a bit of the bacon grease for flavoring and sprinkled the bacon on the salad rather than mixed in the dressing. It was very simple and will use again. May try it with balsamic vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
We had this last night for the first time. I had never heard of a dressing like this. It was good but not somthing I think I would want often. Nice change for an occasional treat. I used 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda but I think I would cut back to 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda next time. We served ours over lettuce wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elite99999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe! I needed one with a little less sugar so I reduced the 8 serving amount to 1/3 cup. The recipe still worked & tasted great - just keep in mind the reduction time takes a little longer when you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States