Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
As a restaurant owner/chef I can tell you that this is a recipe easily done to your taste. I use 1/2 cup Splenda and one Tbl. of sugar, as we have high risk for diabetes. It's ok to sprinkle precooked bacon to top, but finely chopped, thin bacon cooked well gives you the base you need. I remove bacon and drain, adding to the grease finely diced sweet onion (vidalia or Texas A&M 1016?) I strain off all but 1/4 cup grease. Too much sugar will turn thick or candied if not watched carefully. Melt sugar over low heat, then bring to a boil. Once boiling, remove from fire. If you want it thicker, place on heat and add cornstarch at 1/4 tsp at a time, waiting for thickening to happen. I add apple cider vinegar at the end, one Tbl or less at a time. You can always add more but you can't remove easily. Write it down when perfect for you. Sugar or Splenda can be added to taste. We used this dressing over mixed greens, spinach chiffonade, diced white meat chicken, thin sliced almonds or slivered, and fresh quartered strawberries. This way, you get protein, greens, nuts and sweet. I have the world's best Poppyseed Dressing which I use over mixed greens, diced chicken, Craisins, sliced almonds, finely diced onions. Yes, I share. It's great over mixed fruit also. Melon balls, cantaloupe, kiwi, grapes, strawberries....but pick your fav. Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made this per the recipe, except I used about 5 slice of bacon, and a little less salt. Turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I wasn't really a fan of Hot Bacon Dressing but I knew my husband liked it. This was fantastic. Even my 3, 5, and 7 year olds loved it. Will make this again and again. Pimientos not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Used one cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups but was still very sweet. I used this on a dandelion salad so this dressing helped offset the bitterness. I will make this again using even less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Too sweet. I cut the sugar by 1/3 and it was still too sweet. I would use half the sugar and twice the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Cut sugar to 3/4 cup and definitely no more than 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I used apple cider vinegar and it tastes just like my mom and grandma used to make!! It is great on fried potatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
THIS IS EXCELLENT!! I used Splenda instead of sugar..and made a green salad and topped it with steamed shrimp just like applebees does and it was as close to perfect as it can be...delicious!!! Thanks so much for sharing. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I did lower the amount of sugar to only one cup (instead of 1 1/2 cups). After I started to heat it I felt there was too much bacon so I just made another batch of the dressing....worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States