Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe! I needed one with a little less sugar so I reduced the 8 serving amount to 1/3 cup. The recipe still worked & tasted great - just keep in mind the reduction time takes a little longer when you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is a great dressing to put on a spinach salad. I agree with many that the sugar should be cut way back. I used 1/4 c sugar and 1/4 c "splenda" the second time I made this, and it was so much better! I'll use this dressing many times this summer, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was great and I think a lot like Applebees. I only used 1 1/4 cups sugar, some of the bacon grease and added a little more cornstarch since it didn't seem to get thick. I served it over spinich with grilled shrimp and chopped red onion, roasted red pepper and toasted almond slices. UMMMM. I will be making this a lot! Thanks for the recipe. Now I don't have to go to Applebees to satisfy my craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was absolutely fantastic! I served it over a spinach salad for Father's Day and every drop was GONE! I added chopped hard boiled egg, gorgonzola cheese and craisins to the salad and it was such a wonderful blend of sweet, tart and tangy! I can't stress how easy it was, I was a bit intimidated when I first started making it, but no worries, it's simple, quick and no fuss! I did read other reviews and cut way back on the sugar, I only used half a cup and 2 tablespoons. Other than that, I didn't alter a thing! This is an excellent way to eat your spinach LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Tasty!!!! I used the dressing on spinach salad. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was a really good dressing, except I followed everyones advice and cut down on the sugar. I used 1/2 cup and it was plenty sweet. Otherwise I did everything else according to the recipe. Next time I think I will try and add some sauted scallions to it. I used this dressing on top of a spinach and blue cheese salad. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Excellent - got rave reviews served over spinach, hard boiled eggs & mushrooms. Cut the sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up a head of cabbage I had when I came across this recipe. I haven't had this in 20 YEARS!! It's amazing how food can bring back memories. I remember being at a friend's house when she made this for us. I LOVED it then and am so glad I found it again! She served it over steamed cabbage. I couldn't wait to steam the cabbage so I put the dressing over it raw! One note of caution I only used the amount of sugar to taste. Start with a small amount and add more if needed because it can get too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
It was very good. I was suprised by how easy it really was. For some reason, I thought that this would be more work. I added a few hot pepper flakes to give it a little zip. I made half the recipe and still had way too much. It goes futher than you think - don't drown the greens with too much dressing. I will certainly use this one again. I used the thick pepper bacon and didn't crumble it very much - I liked the added flavor. Very good - worth trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
WOW what a great recipe. I read the reviews and cut down on the amount of sugar used to 1 cup. Next time I make this I will use 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup, but this dressing was an excellant blend of flavors. I also added chopped red onions as I cooked the bacon pieces and used balsamic vinegar, poured it over baby spinach and it was delicious. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coxsackie, New York, USA
Living In: Catskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States