Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was absolutely fantastic! I served it over a spinach salad for Father's Day and every drop was GONE! I added chopped hard boiled egg, gorgonzola cheese and craisins to the salad and it was such a wonderful blend of sweet, tart and tangy! I can't stress how easy it was, I was a bit intimidated when I first started making it, but no worries, it's simple, quick and no fuss! I did read other reviews and cut way back on the sugar, I only used half a cup and 2 tablespoons. Other than that, I didn't alter a thing! This is an excellent way to eat your spinach LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Tasty!!!! I used the dressing on spinach salad. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was a really good dressing, except I followed everyones advice and cut down on the sugar. I used 1/2 cup and it was plenty sweet. Otherwise I did everything else according to the recipe. Next time I think I will try and add some sauted scallions to it. I used this dressing on top of a spinach and blue cheese salad. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Excellent - got rave reviews served over spinach, hard boiled eggs & mushrooms. Cut the sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up a head of cabbage I had when I came across this recipe. I haven't had this in 20 YEARS!! It's amazing how food can bring back memories. I remember being at a friend's house when she made this for us. I LOVED it then and am so glad I found it again! She served it over steamed cabbage. I couldn't wait to steam the cabbage so I put the dressing over it raw! One note of caution I only used the amount of sugar to taste. Start with a small amount and add more if needed because it can get too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
It was very good. I was suprised by how easy it really was. For some reason, I thought that this would be more work. I added a few hot pepper flakes to give it a little zip. I made half the recipe and still had way too much. It goes futher than you think - don't drown the greens with too much dressing. I will certainly use this one again. I used the thick pepper bacon and didn't crumble it very much - I liked the added flavor. Very good - worth trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
WOW what a great recipe. I read the reviews and cut down on the amount of sugar used to 1 cup. Next time I make this I will use 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup, but this dressing was an excellant blend of flavors. I also added chopped red onions as I cooked the bacon pieces and used balsamic vinegar, poured it over baby spinach and it was delicious. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coxsackie, New York, USA
Living In: Catskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I took the suggestions of other reviewers and cut the sugar down. I let it cool for about 20 mins before serving it over a spinach salad so it didn't wilt the spinach and served fresh crumbled feta over the top for that salty/sweet combo. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Do not need to use that much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
YUMMY!! This is just what I was looking for. I can't believe I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States