Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I've tried a few Spinach and Artichoke dips from this site and I've loved them all but this is BY FAR my favorite! It is just perfect, and delicious! I used Sour Cream instead of mayo and it was PERFECT!! YUM!!! I used 2 cloves of garlic, did without the basil. I also used Whipped Cream Cheese, it is so much easier to work with. I mixed the shredded cheese into the mixture, much better that way than on top! I thought it got yucky if you put it on top. A hard layer and impossible to dip in. I serve with tortilla chips and baguette. I even mix it all together the day before and put it in a pan in the fridge and then when I'm ready to bake it I throw it in the oven! I make this and bring it whenever I'm going to someone's house and EVERYONE loves it. I can't even tell you how many times I've been asked for this recipe, EVERY time I make it! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1638 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Uxbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This is another fabulous version of the spinach/artichoke dip. However, I used sour cream instead of mayonnaise - much better! We use a bag of frozen spinach (rather than the boxes or fresh) and just squeeze it dry - the spinach quality is better. You can really add a little of whatever you'd like, and it is ALL good! I added chives to add some more green to it. I also have added a few dashes of Frank's hot sauce (which does not overwhelm the other flavors - just enchances them!). You can toss in bacon bits, chopped garlic, chopped red peppers (not green - ew!), etc. Be sure to really chop up the spinach and artichokes - no big chunks for this dip please. You could toss in regular onions too, but I think it is great without them. It does take a little longer to bake with the sour cream - and I use a 9x13 glass pan, so you can see the edges getting golden! I buttered the edges of the pan last tmie - OGM - the dip was gone in under two hours! This is a keeper, and has been a request since we first made it . YUM!!!! (We use Ritz crackers,but this is good on Ritz, tortilla chips - almost anything!) If you have any left over, it is just as good warmed up in the microwave the next day. (I think we've had leftovers ONCE!) Rich, so you don't want to eat it all the time, but if you want a great dip - go for the best! (No cartons of liquidly sour cream junk when this is so easy to make!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
846 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lonnarific
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
LOVE IT! I used light cream cheese (16oz instead of just 8oz), jarred minced garlic instead of wasting my time mincing it myself and I used more spinach than called for to ensure this was actual spinach dip and not just a cream cheese dip (I posted a picture). I also mixed the mozzarella in with everything else instead of just putting it on the top. I paired this with the "Pita Chips" recipe on this site submitted by Dawn. The two are match made in heaven! I cannot speak highly enough about this recipe. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This is the best Artichoke and Spinach Dip in the world! Once we discovered how great the recipe was, I made it two more times that week! My mother came over and we made double the amount and ate it with water crackers while drinking pina coladas and playing scrabble. We hardly played at all, though. We couldn't stop eating that dip! I think this is a fantastic recipe, but for our tastes I added a tsp. of cayenne pepper and a little more garlic. Wonderful dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I love artichokes and cheese, but hate spinach. I have to admit, I could not stop eating this dip. I made it for a New Year's party and thank goodness I doubled the recipe. I served it with parmesan-garlic toast rounds and Triscut crackers. It was a H-I-T. A bit on the expensive side, but well worth it when the compliments start pouring in. One hint: Mix most of the mozarella into the dip, and sprinkle just enough on the top to brown and present nicely. This makes the taste great, and when it cools you have no hard layer to fight with to get to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I fixed this as an appetizer for our Labor Day cookout and it was amazingly good. One of my teenagers, that hasn't eaten anything green in years, was actually eating the bread bowl when the dip was finished. I did take other reviewers advice and made a few changes: substitute sour cream for mayo, increase garlic to 3 cloves, mix mozzarella in before baking, and serve in a bread bowl. Everyone just raved about this dip and it disappeared quicK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Wow. Made this for my mother in law who loves this stuff. She went for a second helping and that is unusual for her. This is by far the best recipe I have found for this. The only change I made was to use fresh mozzarella instead of shredded...melts creamier. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K. Miller
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is always requested at my dinner parties...ever since the first time I made it a few years ago. It goes very quickly!!! Perfect recipe!! Better than any restaurant's dip that I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
this was soooooo good! i will not order artichoke & spinach dip in a restaurant when i can make this at home. i followed the recipe except that i didn't have garlic salt---just garlic powder---and it turned out well. i also added more mozarella---i like it extra cheesy. great recipe...will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Awesome awesome awesome!! Made this for my sister's bachlorette party and got great reviews!! I actually flipped things around, and mixed the mozzerella in with the recipe, then sprinkled a little more parmesan on top for a little crunch. Came out great, served it with sliced sourdough baguette and bagel chips. Will totally make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Johnston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States