Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Applause Applause Applause. I made this the first time for a couple who had never come over to eat before. I served it as an appetizer with a crusty italian bread cut in about 3/4 inch slices. I doubled the recipe and we ate the whole thing it is that good. My guests were stunned and are still talking about what a "great cook I am". The reaction was outstanding and the dip is perfect. I just added diced roma tomatoes and fresh chopped basil to the top just before serving. Be sure to let the top get nice and brown. If not it won't be hot all the way through. We make this dish all the time now. It reheats great. Nice presentation and excellent texture. I would serve this to anybody at any occasion. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe. I substituted cream cheese for the heavy cream and I think that made it better. I also served it in a bread bowl. Everyone I've made this for LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Great dip. I had a craving for spinach artichoke dip and it was satisfied. I will admit, I bartend for a restaurant whos spin dip is really creamy, and this recipe was really nothing like it. This dip was perfect with the garlic parmesan breadsticks I made from this site. In case you are in search of a creamier dip, my restaurant uses chicken stock to make the dip thinner. Just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
WOW! Everyone loved this recipe! I've made it 3 times since Christmas! It also gave everyone a "taste" for artichokes, which was something we did not have prior to this! Some changes - I did not layer anything - mixed it all together and popped it in the oven. I did not use the heavy cream and instead added two 8oz bricks of softened cream cheese. I used a combo Romano/Parmesan already grated cheese. I used the jarred minced garlic in olive oil (and I doubled it for our family). It gets just a little crusty on the edges, but everyone inhaled those too. It is even better the next day (so it is safe to make a day ahead, if you can stand the yummy aroma!), and can be popped right back in the oven without losing anything. This is a total keeper at our house - many thanks for sharing! Wish I had some right now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I doubled this recipe for a party and used a round chafing dish. I baked it in the oven for 20 minutes and then kept it warm over the sterno. I also modified the recipe a bit: more garlic(!), some white pepper, SALT (it needed it), some cream cheese (i had leftover in the fridge) and oddly enough - freshly grated nutmeg. The nutmeg really brought oomph to it. I didn't add a lot, maybe 1/2 teaspoon (remember, I doubled this recipe). It was a hit! All proclaimed it to be better than a restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is a fantastic dip, however, I highly recommend making it in a smaller pan - I used a square corningware casserole, and it came out perfectly. I did not have any romano cheese, so I increased the parmesan. I also increased the garlic to boost the flavor. The main flavor here are the cheeses - if you want more spinach flavor, try "Holiday Hot Spinach Dip" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Very tasty and loved by all of my company, including the kids. My only change was that I used two cans of artichokes, one of which was in a marinade and I topped this dish with parm and a sprinkling of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
The first time I tasted this dip was at a friend's dinner party. We all polished it off within 10 minutes! She gave me the recipe, and I made it the next week for my very picky boyfriend. He devoured it... Try using asiago cheese along with the romano for a nice sharp flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Excellent dip!! Double the recipe and make enough for a couple of small casserole dishes, refridgerate and then when having a party you are ready to replenish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I found this recipe on 5/22/2001 and I am still making it to this day! I love it and so does every other person that comes in contact with it. The only thing I do different know is use 2 cloves of garlic chopped instead of minced garlic. I love garlic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States