Hot Artichoke Dip with Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I enjoyed this, but did some tweaking: using recs below, I used half mayo/half cream cheese, fat-free. I used minced garlic rather than garlic powder. Don't use more sun-dried tomatoes than the recipe states b/c the taste will overwhelm the artichokes, keep it in balance. And finally, I prefer cooking dips like this in a small crockpot because it keeps it warm during the party rather than allowing to cool. I served with garlic crostini (good basic recipe is on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Awesome!!! A few suggestions though for it to be perfect. Instead of 1 cup of mayonaise I used 3/4 cup of mayonaise and 1/4 cup of cream chesse. Also you must use fresh parmesan cheese. I also sprinkled a little bit of extra parmesan on top. This is so yummy that I have to fix it for every family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINV
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The taste of this dip is absolutely delicious! I only gave it four stars, though, because it was really greasy. I kept it warm in a mini crockpot, and grease was just floating on top. But it tasted so good, no one really seemed to mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This tasted really good but was a little greasy. Next time I make it I will substitute cream cheese or sour cream for some of the mayo to cut down on that. I think I would like more sundried tomatoes in it as well. I did add some minced garlic and that worked well. I used the marinated artichoke hearts and liked the extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I must get asked for this recipe at least a few times everywhere I bring it. I usually use more sun dried tomatoes and slice them up a bit. I've also done the recipe with bacon and green onions - exceptional. In any case, cook until the center bubbles and let sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensweetcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have been making this for years. Here is a tip for the people who say it is too greasy. Make sure you bake it in the oven. If you Put it in the microwave or in a crock pot the grease does float on top. Bake in a pie plate at 350 until lightly browned and serve warm. It does make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Everyone loved this recipe even the non artichoke eaters liked it. I used 1/2 cream cheese 1/2 mayo. Turned out great. This is a super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANTAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crescent, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I made this dish and served it with pita breads squares at my family's house warming party. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand (didn't use the green onions or parmesean). Instead, I used a bit of left over mozarella from a pizza night and it came out great. I cup the mayo in half and made up for it with low fat cream cheese which worked really well. Our guests requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was very easy to make. I needed a quick recipe for a weekend with the girls and this fit the bill. It was completely gone! I made it ahead of time and just stuck it in the oven when I got there. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was great. I only made one change, which was to use one medium fresh roma tomato instead of sun-dried tomatoes. Turned out great. Everything else I did exactly according to the recipe. I would make it exactly the same way next time - turned out perfect! Delicious! Great with Ritz crackers or tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States