Hot Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was really good and I don't even like apple cider! Only used half of an orange and lemon peel and I didn't remove the spices after 10 minutes; left them in about an hour and even added more cider and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
wonderful recipe, the kids like having it and it is simple enough for the young ones to make with supervision
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Couv John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I tripled the recipe as we had a lot of family but I didn't quite triple the spices or maple syrup as I served the cider in a crock pot and knew it would be cooking down and getting a bit stronger. I scrubbed the fruit and sliced into rounds, then floated it and the spices on the cider. It looked beautiful! After a couple of hours, I removed the spices, but left the fruit. This was a huge success. Everyone asked me if I would make it again for Christmas! Of course, I said yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Just made this at Thanksgiving this year and it was WONDERFUL! I saw that others had said it was a little too sweet with all of the syrup, so I used the 1/4 cup syrup with a gallon of unsweetened apple cider, and it was perfect. I also let it simmer on the stove for an hour and then removed the fruit and spices. Everyone raved about it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is amazing. I made this to drink with our Thanksgiving feast and it was a HUGE hit. I made this in my crock-pot on high heat rather than my stove and it worked really well. I left the spices in much longer than the ten minutes that the recipe says, because after ten minutes it wasn't very flavorful. I ened up leaving the spices in for a couple of hours and it came out tasting amazing. Also, I used a gallon of unfiltered, unsweetened apple juice and I think that really helped with the flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I skipped the maple syrup, and didn't have the allspice berries and orange/lemon peel. But my family loved this recipe without those ingredients. I simmered it for about 20 minutes - I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My wife and I did a practice run of this recipe since this is our first Thanksgiving we are cooking together for her family. This stuff is so good we called it Liquid Crack! We couldn't stop drinking it all day yesterday and we ran out to buy more apple cider. This stuff should be illegal it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vandread

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Made for Homecoming after-party. The kids hated it! Should have just made the tried and true one from mom. I personally thought it was ok but way too much maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Doubled the recipe and made a it for Halloween night. Forgot the orange and lemon at the store but it didn't matter.. full flavor and tasted WONDERFUL! A guest said it definitely had a homemade taste and was the best hot apple cider he's had =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
A great recipe. I leave out the maple syrup and the orange and lemon peels. My son thought it had sweetening in it when he drank it. I can't imagine how sweet it must be with the syrup. But all of the recipes I have found so far have sweetening of one kind or another. Thank you for a wonderful fall favorite in my family. It goes well with pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States