Hot Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this cider for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! Everyone seemed to really enjoy it. It was easy and really spiced up plain apple cider. I used medium amber pure maple syrup, which added a nice smoothness and sweetness. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Good recipe. I made it using 1/2 an orange with the peel cut up instead of the orange and lemon peels. I also added a handful of sugar as it was a little bitter. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I altered it a little bit, but OMG, it came out fantastic! Thank you so much! Here is what I did when I changed it: 1/4 - 1/3 cup real maple syrup (according to your taste)[and I used Grade A Medium Amber, btw], 3 cinnamon sticks,6 BIG shakes of powder nutmeg 1 orange peel -- peel complete until one long swirl, 1 lemon peel -- peel complete until one long swirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SashaHM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Made ithis for a chilli cook off along with chilli and cornbread. Needless to say I was the hit of the night. This was exactly what I was looking for. It remind me of the Christmas walks through Greenfield village except I added some spiced rum. Yum! People voted this as a winner for best chilli?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLINERICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was super delicous. I doubled the apple cider (I used locally fresh pressed), the maple syrup and cinnamon. I only used the recommended 6 strips of orange and lemon peels and used 1/2 tsp of ground cloves to substitute for not having whole. I cooked this on the stovetop for about an hour on low heat and then transferred to a crock pot (removing the bag of spices and rinds) so I could take it to a party. I will definitely make this again. Everyone loved it and there weren't any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is PHENOMINAL! Just perfectly delicious. I just added one thing which is an old trick I recently learned from a New York State apple farmer who's family has been making hot cider for 150 or so years. Thinly slice and or chop up some McIntosh apples including the peel into small pieces and drop a small bunch of the apple pieces into each cup of hot cider just before serving. This makes a wonderful addition to this recipe, which I would say is the best hot cider I have ever tasted. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe. IT IS WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
533 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Mmmm! Quick and easy, but oh so satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
very good and tasty. made this in the crockpot for 4 hours and it made the whole house smell wonderful! i followed another reviewer's suggestions and used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground cloves and i also added in 1/4 tsp allspice. husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYU001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Unfortunately, I'm the only one in my home that likes hot cider. Rather than make a big batch, I make single servings in a mug, heating the cider in the microwave, and adding the spices in a tea infuser and just letting it sit for a few minutes. Amazing recipe, LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States