Hot Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made mine in the crock pot and it was very delicious. It made the house smell nice also on Christmas morning. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
To be honest, I can't really review this recipe since I changed it so much. I made it in a crock pot and simmered. I used about 6 cups of unsweetened apple cider, a teaspoon of cinnamon, no allspice, two slices of clementines, a teaspoon of maple syrup, 8 cloves, about 1/2 teaspoon of lemon zest, and 8 cranberries. It smells and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I didn't have any maple syrup so I used a heaping tablespoon of honey instead. I bought a container of Tree Top apple cider and dumped most of it in my crockpot. I used about a cup of pineapple juice that was left over from pineapples on my Christmas ham. I didn't use any lemon. I sliced the oranges into circles and left them in the crockpot the whole time. I threw in two cinnamon sticks, and a pinch of each of these spices: ground cinnamon, ground allspice, ground nutmeg, and ground cloves. It came out wonderful for my Christmas Eve party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Really great! I added a bit of rum and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Took this to a friends house for Thanksgiving and several people told me that it was the best cider they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe is hit or miss, simply because people have different concepts of how the like their cider. This cider, for example, is extremely sweet. Though I didn't care for it, the people I made it for drank down multiple servings. I think next time I may down the syrup, up the spices, and perhaps just put full orange slices in the pot instead of the peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I had a party of about 40 people and served this as one of the beverages. I increased it of course, and cooked it on the stove as directed, then poured it into one of those big 40 cup coffee makers. I think I could've cooked it right in the coffee pot but I wanted it to be just right and wasn't sure. Anyway, it was very popular and several people asked for the recipe including a man who has his own catering business. I put a bowl of cinnamon sticks next to it. They were kind of expensive and everyone took a new one everytime they refilled their cup, so I'm not sure I'd do that again with so large a crowd. I made this with a wonderful local Kansas apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Good Recipe..a cute garnish for this is orange peel cut with a small star cookie cutter and studded with cloves. It looks great in clear glasses. The stars can be made well in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Fantastic! I didn't read the instructions first and just dumped all the ingredients into the pot, but this method worked just fine and will be the way I prepare it from now on...so much easier! I simmered it on low for about an hour or so during dinner and it was enjoyed very much by my family for the rest of the evening. This is a really warm delicious apple cider, perfect blend of sweetness & warm spices. I didn't have allspice berries so I just added some ground allspice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States