Hot Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I loved this! Thank you! I used a teaspoon of ground cinnamon because I did have fresh on hand. I didn't have lemon, either, so I tipped just a little bit of lemon juice in there. This is great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
pretty good. I had to make some modifications though. Instead of maple syrup, we used some brown sugar. I had to double the amount of spices...we like ours SPICED!!! Added fruit as well as the rind...why not? Make in the crock pot so it stayed warm. Make sure not to leave the orange and lemon in too long...they can take over. OK....so I made a lot of changes. I give four stars for the original recipe....nearly 5 for mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very good, I did change it a bit. I added more allspice, cloves and cinnimon. Added some motts single serving cinnimon apple sauce for that apple texture, also added some caramel syrup about 2 tbsp. I left the orange and lemon peel in about 20 min or it will get a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for a Christmas Eve party and my family loved it - three people asked for the recipe! I will be making this again for New years Eve (it's great with a little bit of spiced rum too ). Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Made this recipe 3 times ,crock pot and stove, and loved it each time (so did my guests). Word to the wise: lessen the syrup to 3/4 of the recipe amount and don't worry if you don't have all the lemon/orange peels because I've used 1/2 everytime and it's been PERFECT. Also, don't fear if you can't find WHOLE allspice berrits because I've used 2 ground all spice shakes per serving and it's been PERFECT!! One more thing if you're using a crock pot take out the spice packet after a 3 hrs. because the it will become bittter. ENJOY - you'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Wonderful. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Enjoyed this a lot. Perfectly spiced without being overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
OMG! This was my first time making cider, and it was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Really Really good. I will make this many times for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I actually registered so I could review this recipe! I made it for a holiday meeting tonight and it was fabulous! Here's what I did: Half gallon of unsweetened apple cider, 4 cinnamon sticks, 8 whole cloves, a dash of nutmeg, and the peel of one whole orange. I put the cinnamon sticks and cloves in one of those Japanese bags for loose tea and let them steep for about three hours. I did NOT add any sweetener at all and I can't imagine it with any because it was so wonderful without it. No one could believe that it was unsweetened. I took the bags with the cinnamon sticks and cloves out before I served it but left the orange peel in. Everyone raved about it and I will definitely make this again. It would also be awesome with spiced rum or wine. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States