Hot Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was really good. Instead of just adding the peels, I added slices of orange and lemon because it looks pretty. Next time I won't leave them in as long. As a previous poster mentioned, the citrus tends to make the cider bitter after a while. It's important to add the spices that are mentioned. If you use ground spices as a substitute, it won't dissolve quite right and you'll have a layer of spices on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I thought the maple syrup made it too sweet. Next time I will make it without the syrup or with much less syrup. But this recipe was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
AWESOME!!! I hate when people review and use so many changes but I do 't have time to re-write a recipe, so here is what I did. 12 cups Apple cider 1/2 cup maple syrup 4 TBSP CARAMEL 10 cloves 4 or 5 shakes of Pumpkin Pie Spice 1 orange peel 4 cinnamon sticks. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is an absolutely great recipe! I've been asked to make this for Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. I followed the recipe as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
The very best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Had a very strong lemon flavor which made the cider bitter. I may try again withought he lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Simply wonderful! tossed everything in slow cooker and didn't use cheese cloth. very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is the best ever spiced apple cider I have had. Nothing was overpowering. For a double batch, I cut the maple syrup to a scant tablespoon, just used the 2 cinnamon sticks, and used ground instead of whole cloves. A coffee filter works great for the bag. I simmered for 1 hour but removed the orange and lemon peel at 20 minutes. I threw away my other recipes for this drink. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
SO good! I wasn't a fan of home-made hot apple cider until I made this for a family get together last fall. My family cans their own apple juice in the fall, and that is what I used for the apple cider. Enjoyed by all... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I loved this! Thank you! I used a teaspoon of ground cinnamon because I did have fresh on hand. I didn't have lemon, either, so I tipped just a little bit of lemon juice in there. This is great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States