Hot Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
We really enjoy hot holiday beverages. This is great for the kids and also adults when feel like something other than mulled wine. (When is that again?). LOL. Good for your Designated Drivers at holiday parties, too! Here are some tips: If leaving it to sit, remove spices so it doesn't get too strong. I put allspice berries and cloves in a tea ball! Don't leave orange/lemon peels in too long or it will become bitter. Add a splash of lemon juice if no lemons available. Would be pretty served with orange & lemon peels and cranberries floating in it. For a very special treat, we use caramel syrup (like sundae topping) drizzled in a clear ("fancy") glass mug and topped with whipped cream. This will make the kids (and honestly, most adults too) go crazy. Better than a Caramel Apple Cider drink you'll pay $5 for at a coffee shop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have made this cider twice and it was a big hit both times at my parties. I didn't bother with a bag and just let the spices and peels float around in the pot. Had to leave out the allspice and I used 1 tsp ground cinammon instead of a stick and 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead of maple syrup. The ground cinammon clumps at first, but disolves as the cider gets hot. When I cut the peels,I made sure to use as little of the white part as possible to avoid bitterness. Some of the peels were almost translucent they were so thin. Mixed with red wine, this cider makes an excellent vin brulè as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It smells really good...but tastes EVEN BETTER. i used ground cinnamon and ground all spice. I also squeezed some lemon juice in there... Next time i think ill use just a tad less maple syrup...but overall this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
took a little while to get all the flavours infused so need to put this on to cook before you cook anything else. Adding spiced rum doesnt hurt either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Not sweet enough. Lemon peel made cider too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Fresh, not overly sweet, and fabulous. I don't have allspice berries, so I put ground allspice in a tea sac with the citrus rinds and cinnamon, etc. A new favorite. I make it once a week now. This will be a tradition for my young family every fall. Bring on the hot apple cider! Mmm. I just may go make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was good and I really liked the idea of it but it wasn't perfect for me. My husband really enjoyed it and that's why I'm giving it 4 stars. I followed the recipe exactly except that I could not find whole allspice and had to substitute ground. I think I ended up using 1/2 teaspoon. This smelled wonderful while it was cooking, but the end result was a little too tart for me. I would probably make this again but make an effort to add some more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
The boyfriend is sick and I wanted to give him something other than hot tea. Followed directions to a tittle and we both liked it very much. Thank you! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States