Horseshoe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made this last nite it was DELICIOUS !!!!! I made loose meat recipe ..... I layered toast, meat, & than I poured on the cheese sauce !!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I'm from Spfld, IL and have been making horseshoes for years - it's easy! The orig recipe by kehn is good, but I'm listing some additional tips. You can use any type of meat, and season the meat how you always would. Hamburger is most popular, but you can also use ham, grilled or breaded chicken breasts, crispy bacon, shrimp, Italian beef - it's up to you. (This is an excellent recipe for any leftover meat!) You also choose the bread (white, wheat, etc.), just make sure it's toasted. Make your favorite type of fries - we prefer the skinny straight ones. And because these are so filling, you can make a ponyshoe instead of a horse (one piece of bread instead of 2.) As listed in kehn's recipe, you're going to make a basic white sauce - I use 2 cups milk (you choose the type, they all work fine - skim, whole, half n half), 3 tbs flour and 3 tbs. butter. Once the white sauce is made, you're going to add a few things to make it the "horseshoe" sauce. First stir in 2-3 Tbs Worcestershire sauce, then (and this is a must!) stir in a DROP of real mustard (not dry mustard). Lastly stir in the cheese. I have friends who add 2-3 Tbs of Velveeta or Cheese Whiz to the sauce, but I use shredded cheddar, stirring until completely melted. (Use S&P to taste.) The original recipe by kehn is close, but you definitely have to add the Worcestershire sauce and the mustard to make it even yummier! I also agree with another reviewer that D'Arcy's Pint makes the best, so visit Spfld! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtney
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe and I was shocked at how good it was and how easy it is to fix it was definitely yummy to my tummy will keep this recipe handy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I went to college just west of Springfield, and there I had my first horseshoe. Glad this recipe helped me recreate the meal for my family in Ohio!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
If you want the best Horseshoe, visit D'Arcy's Pint in Springfield, IL! They may even share their recipe with you. There is also a cookbook put out by the Springfield, IL Junior League that has an EXCELLENT recipe for horseshoes. I actually use THAT cheese sauce recipe for my baked Mac n Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
We thought this was great! I can see how some thought it was a bit bland, though...I added some garlic powder to the cheese mixture, and seasoned the burger patties w/ salt, pepper and garlic powder before cooking. I used Ore-Ida Seasoned Crinkles for the fries, and they gave a nice flavor to the dish. served this over buttered/toasted burger buns. This was very tasty, and as we were eating, we were coming up w/ other add-ons like sauteed onios, bacon and tomato slices, all of which I plan to try next time! I will def be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
...for true D'Arcy's Pub, Springfield IL taste, you MUST use Wisconsin White Cheddar for the cheese.....I also season the beef patties with Lawrey's Salt and Mc Cormick's California Garlic Powder with Parsley, but I always put that in my burgers. My fry of choice is the shoestring, more surface to hold the crispiness under that beautiful cheese sauce...bon appetit! (i gave 4 stars due to lack of healthiness only, i mean, come on, 1/2lb of burger per person??? Still, 5 star taste!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Brannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Very good, exactly like the horseshoe we had in Springfield! Except the cheese sauce was way better! I used Lousianna hot sauce and it was perfect - the whole family loved it but it is a heart attack on a plate! So can't have it too often! We also added bacon and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I am a retired chef from Springfield and now live in Indiana . I make these every once in a while for my husband and son. I use the white american cheese that you get at the deli and always use milk. Also, it is tradition to sprinkle a little paprika on top. I don't think you need to use so much butter and flour. I use about 2 Tbs. butter and 2 Tbs. flour for every 2 C. of liquid. Remember, the cheese is going to make the sauce thicker. You can use any meat you like or even a grilled portabella mushroom. I agree with a lot of reviews that you need to season your meat but don't add much else to sauce except a dash worcestershire or else it's not a horseshoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States