Hornets Nest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Followed the directions exactly, and baked it for 35 minutes in my pampered chef 9x13 pan. I did let the pudding cool for at least 25 minutes, as suggested in another review, and it was delicious! Everyone loved it! We renamed it Butternut Scotch Cake. We will be making this again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This was a huge hit for me. I left the nuts off half it for the non-nut lovers and it was still a big hit. Was gone very fast. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I substituted pecans for walnuts since that is what I had in my pantry, and it worked great! The consistency was like cakey brownies (not chewy). Couldn't ask for an easier recipe! Gotta come up with a more appealing name, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
5 stars for ease, alone, but tastes yummy also! The first time I made this, the chips didn't melt as much, but the 2nd time was the charm - I let pudding cool a little longer and it seemed to make all the difference with cake consistency and the melty topping. This dessert is so very moist that it still tastes just as fresh days later. It keeps very well, and I didn't refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I agree with others, this recipe works as long as you follow it. The batter seemed thick, but it turned out awesome. Got rave reviews. The only alteration I made was witholding the nuts and putting more chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a tasty cake. I made a chocolate version. I made it on a whim because I had the ingredients (or so I thought) but I was confused by the pudding. I had a regular box of pudding (3.4 oz). I didn't have a large box to check the size and I wasn't sure if the size was a typo or if it called for a large box. Well now that I've checked the large box at the store, it calls for a LARGE BOX OF PUDDING! It actually tastes great with the smaller box too. It comes out a with at cake-like texture instead of a brownie-like texture and the chips and nuts sit on top instead of sinking in. Next time I try it, I'll use the right size box of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is my 21-year-old son's enduring favorite. He requests it for almost any occasion...even tailgating for college football games! I too got the recipe originally from the Cake Doctor's cookbook, and the only changes I've made from this recipe are using instant vanilla pudding and adding whatever chips I have on hand - chocolate, butterscotch, peanut butter...it's all good! Oh, and I use pecans most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Simple to make, but I thought this was far too sugary and heavy. Smells awesome. Cake was so thick and sweet, but you really need to add in the pudding to make it thick enough to keep the chips and nuts from sinking. If I were to make this again, I would probably use instant sugar-free pudding (that was let to sit for a couple minutes after beating to thicken) and I would try to get away with adding 3/4 of it to the cake mix. I would definitely only use 1 cup butterscotch chips since this was the most sugary part. Walnuts were great! Probably won't make this one again though. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've made this cake many times. I got the recipe from The Cake Mix Doctor, but my recipe does not use non-instant pudding. Mine actually uses the instant pudding and it is always a moist delicious dessert. This is more of a brownie than a cake. I noticed one user made the cake according to the box and that is not correct. For this recipe you must mix the dry cake mix with the pudding. Strange, but it will come out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Grove, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I just made this cake and I am wondering if the pan size is correct. If it is supposed to be a bar type cake, the addition of the pudding mix really fills the cake pan. I did not get the sinking effect at all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States