Hornets Nest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This cake tastes wonderful and is really easy. The instructions are written a little confusing, I think. You need to mix the cake mix batter as written on the instruction box and then add the pudding. It sounded to me like you add the yellow cake mix powder to the pudding. I figured it out when the mass looked strange :-) Good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've made this cake many times. I got the recipe from The Cake Mix Doctor, but my recipe does not use non-instant pudding. Mine actually uses the instant pudding and it is always a moist delicious dessert. This is more of a brownie than a cake. I noticed one user made the cake according to the box and that is not correct. For this recipe you must mix the dry cake mix with the pudding. Strange, but it will come out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Grove, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Great cake, looks and tastes good. Easy to make for last minute guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is my 21-year-old son's enduring favorite. He requests it for almost any occasion...even tailgating for college football games! I too got the recipe originally from the Cake Doctor's cookbook, and the only changes I've made from this recipe are using instant vanilla pudding and adding whatever chips I have on hand - chocolate, butterscotch, peanut butter...it's all good! Oh, and I use pecans most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe states. This was delicious. It was even better after being refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This is a delicious sweet brownie-type dessert! Anyone who can't make this one right did not follow the directions. COOK the pudding on the stove and then add the box of cake mix. I don't like walnuts so I used two different ingredients: toffee pieces and crushed Frosted Flakes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This is a great cake! There is never any left over and I get requests all the time to make it. The best part is it is so easy! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
5 stars for ease, alone, but tastes yummy also! The first time I made this, the chips didn't melt as much, but the 2nd time was the charm - I let pudding cool a little longer and it seemed to make all the difference with cake consistency and the melty topping. This dessert is so very moist that it still tastes just as fresh days later. It keeps very well, and I didn't refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Simple to make, but I thought this was far too sugary and heavy. Smells awesome. Cake was so thick and sweet, but you really need to add in the pudding to make it thick enough to keep the chips and nuts from sinking. If I were to make this again, I would probably use instant sugar-free pudding (that was let to sit for a couple minutes after beating to thicken) and I would try to get away with adding 3/4 of it to the cake mix. I would definitely only use 1 cup butterscotch chips since this was the most sugary part. Walnuts were great! Probably won't make this one again though. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this cake with only the exception of using white chocolate/chocolate chips instead of butterscotch chips. It was a hit and the cake was eaten with in a day. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States