Horchata (Cinnamon Rice Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I don't know why people have given this such a low review, I made this recipe today and it came out great!! Very good and very authentic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Being Mexican myself, I'm biased when it comes to Mexican recipes. However, I do love horchata. It takes alot of time to prepare, but it is worth it. My nieces and newphews love it, but then again, they are also Mexican, :-). My fiancé, on the other hand, is white, and he can't get enought of this drink. I decided to learn how to make it for him, and that is what brought me here. So even though it isn't especially easy to make, it is worth it just for it's delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This recipe turned out great, except you can't follow the instructions completely. First, instead of a cinnamon stick I substituted ground cinnamon. Second, I added 1 quart(4 cups) milk)in addition to the other ingredients. Then I heated up the mixture, not waiting the 3 hours, just until it was hot, not boiling. Pureeed the mixture till smooth and strained it. Then I chilled the mixture. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I found out about this drink in a place I use to eat in, but wanted to have it around the house as well...This was awesome !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortnsweet

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very easy and tasty version of this recipe, which originated in Spain, not Mexico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is the the closest thing to Mi Abuelita's. It brought back great mempries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer W-Marquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I liked it. If done with milk it would be much better. The water is good if you want something refreshing and not too heavy. Will make it again. Thank you for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
i use the recipe all the way up to step 2. i smashed the rice during the boiling process, so you can get all that extra water out of the rice. and i added about 1/4 cup of milk to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnight_Blaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I gave this three stars because it got me on the right track toward making my own horchata recipe. I didn't have any dairy products and wanted something milky... so the bag of rice sprang to mind. I boiled two cups of rice in four cups of water and kept adding water to cover the rice, until the rice grains were huge, puffy, and creamy. Then, added water until it was soupy and blended. When most of the rice was broken up I strained. If your strainer is getting clogged, run your fingers around the holes and/or add more water. I found that more water made straining easier. Keep the rice shards you strain out and make rice pudding. Same sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla as the horchata, just in a more solid form. If it comes out too thick ... add water and blend and all will be well. And mine tastes strongly of rice, regardless of the tons of water. Must be from all the ground up rice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I may have had horchata once or twice before in my lifetime, so I'm not a good judge of what this *should* taste like. It's a bit strange for average-white-guy tastebuds, but I'll have to say it grew on me a little, as I drank the whole batch in a few days. I gather from the previous reviews that there was some confusion on whether the mixture should be strained (perhaps the recipe was amended, as now it says to do so). I'd never used cheesecloth before, and gave it try here, but it, um, didn't quite work for me. So I reverted to using a fine-mesh sieve instead, which I'm a little more familiar with. The resulting mixture was still a tiny bit grainy (is that how it's supposed to be?). But it occurred to me, while reading the reviews, that perhaps straining the mixture more than once would be a good idea (I'd never thought of that). I did use the optional vanilla, and the full 1/2 cup of sugar. It's definitely best served chilled, although I forgot about the "over ice" part after my first glass. This wasn't fantastic, and it's a little time-consuming, but it did help broaden my horizons a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States