Horchata (Cinnamon Rice Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I tried this recipe and followed it exact. The rice to water ratio is so far off all I ended up with was a thick rice pudding like mix but the fun part was trying to figure out how to dilute it or thin it out without sacrificing flavor after a ton of water, milk sugar and more cinnamon and vanilla we ended up with a product that was delicious! If you try this I recommend cutting the rice measurement in half or doubling the Water! Goodluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
The horchata --- pronounce it or chah tah --- recipes that came up here are NOT the authentic Mexican way. We discovered horchata when my son undertook Latin American Studies in college AND we learned how to make it from Mexican neighbors. Our hometown in Iowa is heavily - around 20 percent - Hispanic. I was taught to simply boil rice in lots of water, eat the rice in another dish and use just the milky rice water for the DAIRY FREE drink. Add sugar to taste and either ground cinnamon or ground nutmeg like you would for eggnog. You could add milk if you wanted, evaporated milk being the preferred choice, but try it the ECONOMICAL and purely simple way with rice and water plus sugar/spice to taste. Horchata is definitely addictive and beats corn syrup sweetened pop any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I was in a hurry and did not look at the reviews. I like the fact that the only two positive reviews here are from someone who hasn't used the recipe yet and someone who did not follow the recipe. Incredible that this was the top recipe when I googled harchata. Never again, IVYP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Gooey, Sticky, Mess. Horchata is supposed to be thinner than milk, sweet, refreshing, and you can never have enough. Atole is a thick cornmeal drink, like breakfast in a cup. It's quite tasty and a comfort food here in New Mexico. This recipe turned out somewhere in between Horchata and Atole. I love both, but not mixed together. Blend the rice, but don't cook it, and throw out the gritty ends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very easy and tasty version of this recipe, which originated in Spain, not Mexico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I found out about this drink in a place I use to eat in, but wanted to have it around the house as well...This was awesome !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortnsweet

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Would not try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward
Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I may have had horchata once or twice before in my lifetime, so I'm not a good judge of what this *should* taste like. It's a bit strange for average-white-guy tastebuds, but I'll have to say it grew on me a little, as I drank the whole batch in a few days. I gather from the previous reviews that there was some confusion on whether the mixture should be strained (perhaps the recipe was amended, as now it says to do so). I'd never used cheesecloth before, and gave it try here, but it, um, didn't quite work for me. So I reverted to using a fine-mesh sieve instead, which I'm a little more familiar with. The resulting mixture was still a tiny bit grainy (is that how it's supposed to be?). But it occurred to me, while reading the reviews, that perhaps straining the mixture more than once would be a good idea (I'd never thought of that). I did use the optional vanilla, and the full 1/2 cup of sugar. It's definitely best served chilled, although I forgot about the "over ice" part after my first glass. This wasn't fantastic, and it's a little time-consuming, but it did help broaden my horizons a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was a complete disaster for me! It was ridiculously thick. I'm not sure what I did wrong... My boyfriend still loved it, but he will eat anything. I will give this recipe another try, but i'm not expecting much. This was nothing like the horchata my grandmother would make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I prefer Lola's Horchata her on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States