Horchata (Cinnamon Rice Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I read the recipe, then the other posts here and had to laugh. The person who posted this recipe skipped a crucial step: STRAINING the horchata (Do you really think we can drink something that has cinnamon bark in it without straining it?). Funny. Also, I usually like to let the rice mixture sit overnight, then you don't have to cook it and lose its lovely fresh milky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Something isn't right about this recipe. When I tried it it turned out to be more like a gritty pudding that was too thick to even strain. I just had to throw it away and wasted a few hours of my time. I'm thinking it shouldn't be cooked at all, but just soaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I have to agree with the previous reviewers. This makes unstrainable starchy sludge. If you left out the step where you cook the rice and do everything else the same I think it would work out OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
With all due respect to the author, this did not come close to the authentic horchata my family is used to drinking. I was disappointed to find white sludge after I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
After reading the reviews, I made LatinaCook's recipe instead. The only variation I made was to add a touch of almond extract. Nice drink for a change of pace...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Taste was like paste and the texture was like sludge. I even followed the recipe exactly. Not even close to Horchata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I followed LatinaCook's advice and my boyfriend raved. I didn't try this actual recipe, though. I'm no expert, but cooking the rice does sound strange. Did you know that in Mexico, they make it with blanched almonds in place of milk? Check out Wikipedia for more info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was like rice porridge and I had to add a LOT more sugar and cinnamon to get even close to the authentic taste I've had elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This is gooey and a waste of time. Soak a cup of uncooked rice in water overnight. Discard water and place the rice, a can of evaporated milk and about 4 cups of water in a blender. Mix. Add 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and blend well. Strain through a cheesecloth a few times and serve over ice. Easier and way better, i promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
661 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I'm glad this recipe "costs only a few cents to make" - I didn't feel so bad throwing the results out. I followed the recipe instructions and got the same milkshake sludge as other reviewers. No matter how much I strained it - it was still an unpleasant texture in the mouth. I then did as another reviewer suggested, soaking the rice uncooked - which only produced a cinnamon flavoured water - I didn't need to waste the rice to get that result. With apologies to all, this is the only recipe I've ever rated one-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States