Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
A friend gave me canned blackeye peas and told me they're supposed to bring good luck for the new year, so I told him to come by and I'd cook them up. I had to modify since the peas were canned, but I think I kept the recipe pretty close. Instead of water, I used two cans of low sodium chicken broth and instead of the dry black-eyed peas, I used three cans with the liquid. I also omitted the red pepper flakes since a couple family members can't take spiciness and instead served Crystal hot sauce on the side. We all loved it... especially with the kick the hot sauce gives it! Definitely tasted southern, now we'll see if it brings us luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was my first time making Hoppin' John. I am so glad that I used this recipe. I did make a couple of changes. I added two cans of Rotel tomatoes. It gave it a nice kick! I left out the smoked cheese because I didn't have any, but it was still delicious. Mine dried out after it sat a while. I'm sure that I can reconstitute it for leftovers with a little chicken or vegetable stock. This is a true Southern dish and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I modified slightly; no rice or cheese... Added a jalapeno and some bell pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I've made Hopping John for many years. This recipe is basically what I follow with a few exceptions. I used Tabasco (to taste) instead of red pepper flakes. I also used salt pork (about 1/8 pound cut up) and 1/8 tsp. of baking soda. My family loves this so much that I must make it more often than New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I fixed this recipe on New Year's Day, using the suggestions of other AR members. I used a tiny bit of olive oil and cooked minced garlic (from a jar) for a few minutes in the bottom of the pot. I added a can of rotel tomatoes, leftover cubed ham, and canned black eyed peas. I used chicken stock rather than water. and used a mixture of wild and long grain rice. I only had 1/4 of a large onion, and I forgot the cheese. My husband liked it so much he wants me to fix it again soon and make more next time! Thanks for a great recipe. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Hoping to make this recipe a New Years Day tradition! Cooked this in the crock pot, cause I needed things to be a little easy if ya know what I'm sayin'. Just threw everything in and cooked it on low for 6 hours. I did not presoak the beans and they turned out perfect - not too mushy. I cooked the rice separate and served the beans over it with hot sauce as an optional condiment. Couldn't find a smoked cheddar so subbed smoked gouda. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I just made this for family today, and it was delicious! Everyone loved it. I heard this dish was a traditional New Year's Day dish to bring luck for the new year...hope that works too! It may have needed a bit more water, but all in all it turned out great. A simple and delicious dish; I'll make it again. Oh, and I'd recommend NOT omitting the smoked cheese, it made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is awesome. The flavor of the black eyed peas really comes through. I made a double batch and used the ham bone from the Christmas ham. They turned out great. Everyone has their own way of spicing them up, but if you just love black eyed peas like I do then this is for you. I only added 1/2 the amount of crushed pepper. I served mine over rice but my husband ate them just the way they were. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent way to make the black-eye peas we all need on Jan 1 for luck. We have an onion allergy in our family, so I made a few modifications - I sauteed 4 cloves of minced garlic in some olive oil, added the crushed red pepper to the oil and then the black-eye peas - then sauteed the peas a bit in the oil/garlic/red pepper and then finally, added them to the already boiling water. No cheese at the end though - doesn't seem right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great New Years recipe, but I made some changes too. I use Goya ham seasoning instead of the hamhocks (1 packet per pound of beans), and I also used a little cayenne instead of red pepper flakes. I garnished with some fresh green peppers, onions & diced tomatoes rather than cooking them in the recipe as another cook suggested. I got rave reviews and it is fairly low in fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States