Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I make this every New Year's Day. I do not mix the rice. I just serve the peas and let my guests decide whether or not to add rice. I use hot pepper sauce rather than pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I think this is an excellent recipe. The only thing that I added was a bay leaf or two and a pinch of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mccordiasia
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Smoked Ham Hocks or Jowl make a big difference. I always add a little ham and finish it off with hot sauce and chopped onion once it's in the bowl. Just keep adding water or stock if it gets too thick for your liking. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was ok. I think it needs more than just salt and pepper to taste. It was quite bland. I ended up putting about a TBS of chicken bouillon granules towards the end to give it more flavor. I also thought there was way to much rice. I recommend cutting it down to just 1cup. I had to keep adding water by the cup full several times after i put the rice in. This serves waaaaay more than four people. More like 8 hungry people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
It sounds like my moms except for the rice and cheese. Haven't tried this yet. I know I will not add cheese, maybe rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
A pretty good recipe. Even my snobby daughter ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish506

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very tasty! Great for cuddling up and staying in. Very hearty meal with a little bit of zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I loved this dish. Very minor modifications-- I used brown rice, so I had to cook it for about 20 extra minutes. I also had to add an extra 1 1/2 c. water. I added 2 tsp of minced garlic and decreased the red pepper flakes to accommodate kids. Family members thought it was "too subtle", though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I love black eye peas, but I didn't find this dish very appealing. Guests barely touched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this for my husband on new years day. He loved it! This is definitely going in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States