Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe and used ham hocks I got at local store. I also bought a package of ham chunks and added it to the beans in the last stages of cooking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious and economical! I added 2 bayleave while beans & ham cooked; then added beef broth when I added the rice. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I just made this for New Years day; friend dropped by. I decided to add the pre cooked beans to a casserole dish, add the ingredients and cover with foil. I slow baked the Hoppin John at 275 for two hours lowered the oven temp to 250 when the guest arrived. After 45 minutes, I pulled the dish out and served buffet style. This was awesome and popular with my friends. I will make this a New Years tradition for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Defiantly a do over! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Today is the first time that I've made, and eaten this dish. I was NOT disappointed! I followed the recipe only making a couple of changes. I added a couple of whole allspice and cloves and used chicken broth instead of water. My kids and I aren't big fans of spicy food so I left the red pepper flakes out. My husband added a dash of tabasco to his as he does like spicy. This will be our new New Years lunch from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Great starter up recipe!!! Want to add my 2 cents. Instead of all water, I use Chicken broth when I cook the peas and ham/bone, add a can of green chili peppers, cut up onion, then I add rice. Sometimes I throw in some cut-tomatoes, too, but it's whatever stirs your pot!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
LOVE IT! I cook the beans and ham hock with some Tony Chachere's seasoning. I saute onion, carrots and celery in a little olive oil for a few minutes. Add some minced garlic for the last 30 seconds. I put this in the crockpot with 1 cup of rice and I add extra water. Otherwise, I follow the basic recipe. It takes a good hour for the rice to cook and my kids are always standing in the kitchen asking, "Is it ready?" YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Fast to put together and surprisingly tasty. I used brown rice instead of white and had to add about a cup of extra water to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
hoppin' john is traditionally made with smoked sausage, rather than ham, as well as braised collard greens. I recommend sticking to the traditional recipe, as I found that it is much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Without the cheese, this dish seriously need some tweaking because it was a bit bland. I had to add more water than called for as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States