Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I just made this for New Years day; friend dropped by. I decided to add the pre cooked beans to a casserole dish, add the ingredients and cover with foil. I slow baked the Hoppin John at 275 for two hours lowered the oven temp to 250 when the guest arrived. After 45 minutes, I pulled the dish out and served buffet style. This was awesome and popular with my friends. I will make this a New Years tradition for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Defiantly a do over! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Today is the first time that I've made, and eaten this dish. I was NOT disappointed! I followed the recipe only making a couple of changes. I added a couple of whole allspice and cloves and used chicken broth instead of water. My kids and I aren't big fans of spicy food so I left the red pepper flakes out. My husband added a dash of tabasco to his as he does like spicy. This will be our new New Years lunch from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Great starter up recipe!!! Want to add my 2 cents. Instead of all water, I use Chicken broth when I cook the peas and ham/bone, add a can of green chili peppers, cut up onion, then I add rice. Sometimes I throw in some cut-tomatoes, too, but it's whatever stirs your pot!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
LOVE IT! I cook the beans and ham hock with some Tony Chachere's seasoning. I saute onion, carrots and celery in a little olive oil for a few minutes. Add some minced garlic for the last 30 seconds. I put this in the crockpot with 1 cup of rice and I add extra water. Otherwise, I follow the basic recipe. It takes a good hour for the rice to cook and my kids are always standing in the kitchen asking, "Is it ready?" YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEliz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Fast to put together and surprisingly tasty. I used brown rice instead of white and had to add about a cup of extra water to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
hoppin' john is traditionally made with smoked sausage, rather than ham, as well as braised collard greens. I recommend sticking to the traditional recipe, as I found that it is much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Without the cheese, this dish seriously need some tweaking because it was a bit bland. I had to add more water than called for as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
My sister-in-law, her mom, and I had always heard of this, but never had it. It makes a LOT, but freezes well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
loved this and it was easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States