Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very good! My husband and son have agreed this will be an annual New Years' Day recipe. The recipe did not call for it, but I pre-soaked the peas and tossed out the soaking water, adding fresh water for the recipe. I also increased the water to 5 cups. I also added a can of 'diced tomatoes with chiles' for color and extra flavor. Couldn't find any smoked cheddar cheese, but regular sharp cheddar worked just fine. I served it with hot corn bread muffins and a tossed salad. Great meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was the best black eyed pea recipe that I have tried...I substituted a pound of bacon for the ham hocks...it was GREAT...could be served as an entire meal...I impressed everyone with this one, even "seasoned" black-eyed pea eaters!! I made this the first time for new years and have been making it ever since!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made this for my bf, who always has black-eyed peas and hog jowl on New Years. We think it might have been better if we pan fried the hog jowl before adding it to the dish; it's such a fatty meat. Otherwise this was good, tasting very much like any beans and ham do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Who makes this w/black-eye peas? The authentic southern (East Indian/Mediterranean) recipe for Hoppin' John originating in the South (specifically Charleston, South Carolina) calls for "cow peas" (another name is "field peas") is used... not black-eye peas. Of course, cow peas or field peas can only be found in Charleston, South Carolina. A native of Charleston (but now living in the Rocky Mountain West), I have to import the peas. Cow peas/Field peas are dark red and very small (not to be confused w/red beans). Yes, this is the annual New Year's Day rice dish served w/roast pork and the other usual "southern" dishes (see Charleston.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This was a great cold weather dish. I omitted the ham and added fake bacon bits at the end instead, which was great. It would be kind of bland without it. I also used a little bit of lemon grass and that gave it a nice flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Great recipe! I served it on New Year's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I completed my annual tradition of making Hoppin' John, and this, by far, is the best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTORELLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
The end result of this was brown water that tasted mildly of boiled pork. I added extra onions, garlic and even doubled the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I use Hog Jowls instead of Ham Hocks. You can get them almost anywhere in the South around New Years and in some stores all the time. I also find that cooking the Black Eyed Peas in a crockpot is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Overall this was a good recipe. The only thing I would do different next time is to use less red pepper (it packs quite a punch) and use less rice, so the dish has more of a wet consistency. I had to double the recipe for more guests and should have used 2 cups of rice rather than 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States