Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very tasty - and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe was good, but a little bland. I think maybe some added bacon or ham would help it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristi05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe was great. I had to make some revisions because of not having the exact ingrediants. I took the advice from another reviewer and used chicken broth instead of water. Cut up smoke sausage instead of ham hocks. Used 1 can of French Onion soup. I only left the rice out because my husband doesn't care for rice. Served this with hot out-of-the-oven cornbread. Will definetly be making this again. ** I would advise to soak the peas overnight. I cooked this with the crock pot for 10 hours and they were still a little crunchy. Had to finish in the pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
First off- if I wouldn't have found this recipe on here, I probably wouldn't have made this dish. But it just happened to be Dec. 31st and I had a bunch of dried black eyed peas still around from the garden. I love this meal. I did use 2 cups of peas. And two ham hocks. Probably five cups of liquid, part beer, part water. Plus a green bell and a couple big garden habaneros. Thanks- I'll be making this a few times a and every New Years Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by socalhabaneros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a poor people's dish. It was supposedly brought to America by slaves and adopted by white owners of plantations. It is simple and meant to be that way. I followed this recipe with the exception of adding some some simple sliced breakfast sausage along with the ham because while looking up the history of the recipe, I found references of adding that and I received RAVES from friends and family. When I served the leftovers, I poured a jar of home canned tomatoes over the top of the heated up John. Again, it was a great hit. This is a good and simple recipe. I wouldn't change it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was good, better than I thought. I added rotel, as per a review, and some smoked sausage, in addition to the hocks. I only kept some of the hock meat. I also added some garlic and some texas pete's. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is the best black eyed pea recipe! I read the other reviews and decided to make some changes, too. I didn't soak the peas, added chunks of pre-cooked ham and Rotel w/ hot peppers (maybe a bit too hot) and cooked 5 hours in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this according to the recipe given and the mixture was very dry and pasty, plus the rice was crunchy. It definitely needed more liquid(2-4 more cups) and way less rice (3/4 cup). I also think it needs a bit more heat. I'll try it again but with my modifications. It was nothing like my Mom's New Year's black eye peas and ham hocks recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaMouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I am from the south and have always wanted to make this dish. My aunts make the best pots of beans. I love when I go home to visit they always have a pot of somethin stewing in the kitchen. Ok..This dish was excellent but took alot longer then expected. I used water and chicken stock. The ham hocks were soooo good. I added a can or rotell diced tomatoes with green chilis to kick it up and lots of garlic.. I gotta have my garlic. Next time I will soak the beans and cook the rice seperately and then combine all. Very excellent dish with cornbread and a salad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I really like this recipe. I did make changes - I used chicken stock instead of water and that added even more flavor. This recipe is my new New Year's Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Kendrick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States