Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I am rating this recipe to include the changes I made to it. After looking at the recipe I thought this was a good base, but sounded as thought it might be a bit on the bland side. Sooo..I made a few changes. First I added some garlic. I use the pre minced garlic in the jar so I added about 1 to 1-1/2 teaspoons. I also chopped up a green bell pepper and added it to the mix along with a can of chopped tomatoes with green chilis (rotell tomatoes)to give it a little extra bite. Also in addition to cooking the soup with a ham bone, verses a ham hock, I also cubed up a good amount of left over ham and added it into the soup at the end. The result was yummy and would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
678 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was the best black eyed pea recipe that I have tried...I substituted a pound of bacon for the ham hocks...it was GREAT...could be served as an entire meal...I impressed everyone with this one, even "seasoned" black-eyed pea eaters!! I made this the first time for new years and have been making it ever since!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I used long-grain brown rice (added about 30 minutes after the peas) and a slow cooker so it took me about 4 hours. I also used precooked diced ham. The result was VERY flavorful and thick. Everyone gave it a thumbs up. Served with cornbread. This one is definitely going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Overall this was a good recipe. The only thing I would do different next time is to use less red pepper (it packs quite a punch) and use less rice, so the dish has more of a wet consistency. I had to double the recipe for more guests and should have used 2 cups of rice rather than 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very good! My husband and son have agreed this will be an annual New Years' Day recipe. The recipe did not call for it, but I pre-soaked the peas and tossed out the soaking water, adding fresh water for the recipe. I also increased the water to 5 cups. I also added a can of 'diced tomatoes with chiles' for color and extra flavor. Couldn't find any smoked cheddar cheese, but regular sharp cheddar worked just fine. I served it with hot corn bread muffins and a tossed salad. Great meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My number one piece of advice is start on this early. The prep can take awhile, but then it takes care of itself. This is hearty and I'd say the recipe makes enough for at least 6 people to have as a main dish. I might use ham shanks instead of ham hocks b/c they have more meat. As left overs I added some fried bratwurst and a dijon style mustard and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I use Hog Jowls instead of Ham Hocks. You can get them almost anywhere in the South around New Years and in some stores all the time. I also find that cooking the Black Eyed Peas in a crockpot is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
Good, inexpensive hearty meal although I would spice it up a little more probably with garlic and more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I completed my annual tradition of making Hoppin' John, and this, by far, is the best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTORELLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very bland. See review from Calgier. I should have heeded it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States