Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
First of all...I don't understand why people would rate/review a recipe they've not tried. We just finished this for our New Years dinner and thought it pretty good. Good enough to make again. I just salt and peppered, but the family used hot sauce. If I would have had some celery I would have put that in for a bit of crunch at the end of cooking. We also only had extra sharp cheddar on hand so used that. I didn't put rice in it, but instead made corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just for clarification, "rotel" tomatoes consists of jalepeno peppers rather than chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used 1LB cooked thick sliced hickory bacon, cut into 1" strips. 2 cans of stewed tomatoes (w/celery), 1 bell pepper finely diced cooked w/the onion in the left over bacon grease , 1 tsp minced garlic, 3/4 cup whole grain long rice instead of 1 1/2 cups and 1/2 tsp cajun seasoning instead of the red pepper, simmered for closer to 2 hours and it came out great this is the first time I've ever cooked beans not in a can! This along w/the Buttery corn bread recipe from this site is wonderful! Also make sure to NOT bring the beans to boiling while they are simmering or they'll burst open, I used a quick soak method and boiled them hard for 3 minutes. The recipe didn't call for it but I covered the pot while boiling (my trusty Betty Crocker cook book said to cover beans while simmering).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
As other suggested, I added a can of tomatoes (with jalepeno peppers instead of pepper flakes). FYI - I learned from the guy in the meat dept that ham hocks are usually called shanks. I cooked it all in vegetable broth, but that made it a little too salty, so I wouldn't do that again. I also added diced ham. The smoked cheddar cheese on top was key! Great with corn bread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca K. Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I gave 5 only because with some additions and deletions this is an awesome dish...added garlic...stewed tomatoes, cubed ham and tasso...next time i will try rotel tomatoes but then again my family likes spicy foods...recipe calls for way too much rice..I read the other reviews so I cut back on the rice...I more than tripled the recipe but kept the original amount of rice..still way too much..can not imagine that much rice in the original recipe!!!...next time I may cook rice separately and add at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I cut the rice back to one cup, added 2 more cups of water, and changed nothing else. Best hoppin john I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great crockpot recipe for our New Year's Eve gathering. I did not use Ham Hocks, instead I used some of my bone-in Ham cut up. I made the rice separate and let my guests add the cheese if they wanted it. I did add a clove of crushed garlic and used 4 chopped green onions vs 1 chopped onion. This was a hearty dish with or with out the rice. I ate it both ways and actually preferred it without the rice and cheese. Thank you! Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My family also eats black eyed peas every New Years so I tried this recipe to add some excitement to the tradition, but I used smoked turkey wings instead of hamhocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I want to try this recipe (I will give it 5 stars since I haven't tried it yet and it requires stars). I use 2 cans of Black-eye peas, 1 pound browned sausage and no cheese. I use celery as well as onion (doesn't affect the taste much, but adds tons of nutrients). Quick and easy supper with plenty of leftovers. I make it several times a months and everytime I have taken it to a "covered dish supper", I have gotten rave reviews and a clean pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Frio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A classic, traditional recipe and as such you shouldn't tinker too much with it. I use brown rice but no cheese which I think is more faithful to the original. Sure, splash on the Tabasco! That's traditional too. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallie Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States