Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This recipe is easily converted for prep in a slow cooker. We save our holiday ham bones for making recipes like this and the best split pea soup ever, all in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Substituted Brown rice for white and had to cook longer and added a little extra crushed red pepper which made it perfect for my husband but too spicy for myself. Next time I will totally leave out the red pepper and let him add it to his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pricelady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Our luck for the New Yr. Is Cooked cabbage with either corn beef, & black eyed peas, or Ham hocks, also cole slaw because it is green, Cornbread, Mashed potatoes, green beans. & kale. we try for everything green. Thanks, Jacque
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Forgive me but I'm giving this dish that Ive not tried to prepare this way myself 5 stars. Im so shocked because I worked in a 4 star restaurant that put this on the menu and although it was very different, it was terrific. What their preparation was is this; all separate components of cooked white rice, cooked chopped bacon and bacon grease, diced scallions, blackeyed peas, chicken stock, and butter. it was all tossed in a pan and cooked through together, and put on a plate with barbecued shrimp. it was to die for, always returned a clean plate. I cant wait to try this version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Hoppin John does not have cheese. The additon of the trinity (celery, bell pepper and onion) at the start and chopped green onions and parsely at the end adds appeal as well as fresh taste. In the coastal south of Louisiana a little roux is added. Otherwise, this receipe is right on like we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I decided to rate this recipe a 5 even though I haven't made it before. I thought it might offset the poor rating that someone ELSE who never made the dish decided to bestow. I hope this helps, as I always attempt to help out my fellow man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Just to let everyone know Rotel is a brand with several different combinations of tomatos; including green chili, jalapenos and lime with cilantro among others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did add some garlic powder and some onion powder. I found some really fat smoked turkey necks and also had a 1/2 pound cured pork. I soaked my beans over night which greatly reduces the gas problem beans tend to create for a lot of people (don't forget to drain soaked water and refresh before cooking). Cooked Jasmine rice in my rice cooker and served the beans over rice with some fresh chopped white onion. YUMMY!! Never tried it with a can of diced tomatoes, maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for new Years with collard greens and I liked it and so did my daughter but it was a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Baxter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I left out the rice in cooking but before serving I added in two cups of leftover cooked brown rice. I also added a diced yellow pepper and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles and some extra leftover ham. Mine was much more soupy than the picture shows, but my family and guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States