Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Who makes this w/black-eye peas? The authentic southern (East Indian/Mediterranean) recipe for Hoppin' John originating in the South (specifically Charleston, South Carolina) calls for "cow peas" (another name is "field peas") is used... not black-eye peas. Of course, cow peas or field peas can only be found in Charleston, South Carolina. A native of Charleston (but now living in the Rocky Mountain West), I have to import the peas. Cow peas/Field peas are dark red and very small (not to be confused w/red beans). Yes, this is the annual New Year's Day rice dish served w/roast pork and the other usual "southern" dishes (see Charleston.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I made this for a New Year's Day party that we hosted. Everyone loved it and I had several requests for the recipe! Several people said they took the peas because they meant good luck but didn't like them. They changed their mind after they ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
my family loved it, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Ideal for New Years - small kids may have to develop a "taste" for it - but they will come around eventually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I use Hog Jowls instead of Ham Hocks. You can get them almost anywhere in the South around New Years and in some stores all the time. I also find that cooking the Black Eyed Peas in a crockpot is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I completed my annual tradition of making Hoppin' John, and this, by far, is the best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTORELLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Great recipe! I served it on New Year's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was the best black eyed pea recipe that I have tried...I substituted a pound of bacon for the ham hocks...it was GREAT...could be served as an entire meal...I impressed everyone with this one, even "seasoned" black-eyed pea eaters!! I made this the first time for new years and have been making it ever since!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I used long-grain brown rice (added about 30 minutes after the peas) and a slow cooker so it took me about 4 hours. I also used precooked diced ham. The result was VERY flavorful and thick. Everyone gave it a thumbs up. Served with cornbread. This one is definitely going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Delicious. I had not had these in years, I had lost my old recipe. I think this just like the one I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States