Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This recipe as exactly the right combination of seansonings (ham, onion, and especially the red pepper flakes). The problem that I had when preparing this recipe was that there was not enough liquid remaining after the first 1.5 hours to accomodate the 1.5 cups of rice. The combined black-eyed pea & rice mixture ended up with the consistency of concrete until I added an additional 2 cups of water that the rice needed. Next time I will fix the rice in a separate container and then serve them with the black-eyed peas placed on top of the rice (along with corn bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Loved it! Like another reviewer, I decided to add a can of chopped tomatoes and green chilies (Rotel). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
A friend gave me canned blackeye peas and told me they're supposed to bring good luck for the new year, so I told him to come by and I'd cook them up. I had to modify since the peas were canned, but I think I kept the recipe pretty close. Instead of water, I used two cans of low sodium chicken broth and instead of the dry black-eyed peas, I used three cans with the liquid. I also omitted the red pepper flakes since a couple family members can't take spiciness and instead served Crystal hot sauce on the side. We all loved it... especially with the kick the hot sauce gives it! Definitely tasted southern, now we'll see if it brings us luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was my first time making Hoppin' John. I am so glad that I used this recipe. I did make a couple of changes. I added two cans of Rotel tomatoes. It gave it a nice kick! I left out the smoked cheese because I didn't have any, but it was still delicious. Mine dried out after it sat a while. I'm sure that I can reconstitute it for leftovers with a little chicken or vegetable stock. This is a true Southern dish and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I modified slightly; no rice or cheese... Added a jalapeno and some bell pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I've made Hopping John for many years. This recipe is basically what I follow with a few exceptions. I used Tabasco (to taste) instead of red pepper flakes. I also used salt pork (about 1/8 pound cut up) and 1/8 tsp. of baking soda. My family loves this so much that I must make it more often than New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I fixed this recipe on New Year's Day, using the suggestions of other AR members. I used a tiny bit of olive oil and cooked minced garlic (from a jar) for a few minutes in the bottom of the pot. I added a can of rotel tomatoes, leftover cubed ham, and canned black eyed peas. I used chicken stock rather than water. and used a mixture of wild and long grain rice. I only had 1/4 of a large onion, and I forgot the cheese. My husband liked it so much he wants me to fix it again soon and make more next time! Thanks for a great recipe. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Hoping to make this recipe a New Years Day tradition! Cooked this in the crock pot, cause I needed things to be a little easy if ya know what I'm sayin'. Just threw everything in and cooked it on low for 6 hours. I did not presoak the beans and they turned out perfect - not too mushy. I cooked the rice separate and served the beans over it with hot sauce as an optional condiment. Couldn't find a smoked cheddar so subbed smoked gouda. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I just made this for family today, and it was delicious! Everyone loved it. I heard this dish was a traditional New Year's Day dish to bring luck for the new year...hope that works too! It may have needed a bit more water, but all in all it turned out great. A simple and delicious dish; I'll make it again. Oh, and I'd recommend NOT omitting the smoked cheese, it made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is awesome. The flavor of the black eyed peas really comes through. I made a double batch and used the ham bone from the Christmas ham. They turned out great. Everyone has their own way of spicing them up, but if you just love black eyed peas like I do then this is for you. I only added 1/2 the amount of crushed pepper. I served mine over rice but my husband ate them just the way they were. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States