Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Summer here in Australia at 40 degrees - but HAD to try this... 'Himself' and I LOVED it:-) Can't wait for winter to use this recipe over and over with the extended family. Favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
the only thing I would do different next time is make the rice separately and then stir it in with the peas and hamhocks at the end. Besides that it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Excellent recipe- as the Kitchen Witch I had to tinker a bit. My changes included: adding a finely chopped green pepper, 3 handfuls of fresh, stemmed spinach, 1 lb. of bacon instead of ham hocks, 6 cloves of garlic- finely diced, I omitted the rice and finished it over night in the crock on low. MmHmm, an excellent New Years Day (or anytime) recipe-cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
FANTASIC AND EASY!! Whole family LOVED it...sprinkled a little Hot Sauce on top and YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I have found for Hollin' John! Made it two years in a row now - thanks so much for sharing - my family LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made this New Year's Day...WOW...what a family pleaser. I added smoked link sausage, and used brown rice...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good, hearty, healthy meal. Only thing lacking is flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I have a similar receipe that I use, but the only difference is that I use SMOKED HAM HOCKS, which add's a major difference to the flavor AND I do cook my rice separately and just add whatever amount of rice I want with this dish (or just service the beans over the rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This recipe as exactly the right combination of seansonings (ham, onion, and especially the red pepper flakes). The problem that I had when preparing this recipe was that there was not enough liquid remaining after the first 1.5 hours to accomodate the 1.5 cups of rice. The combined black-eyed pea & rice mixture ended up with the consistency of concrete until I added an additional 2 cups of water that the rice needed. Next time I will fix the rice in a separate container and then serve them with the black-eyed peas placed on top of the rice (along with corn bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Loved it! Like another reviewer, I decided to add a can of chopped tomatoes and green chilies (Rotel). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States