Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a great base recipe! What I did differently with fabulous results was: 1) use my slow cooker overnight for 10 hours on low, kept warm (if using unsoaked peas, add time) 2) added celery, onion, 4 cloves of garlic and one potato diced, 3) added 3 bay leaves and three chicken bullion cubes and 4) with the water, added some left over white wine with the ham hock. The only problem was that I woke up every few hours because the house smelled so yummy! Happy New Year and thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I grew up in the South. Real Hoppin John's are a little different down there. You cook the black-eyed peas and the rice but then you put them in a dish and add fresh tomatoes, onion and corn bread to the dish. The southern version is a very good summer time, fresh from the garden version. Try it both ways!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is close to a 5 but of course I always add garlic. I love garlic. For a fast and easy kick to this awesome dish try a spicy picante sauce and course pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe, but being from Texas we add jalapenos to everything. I changed ham to bacon and added okra with stewed tomatoes and garlic. I also used frozen black eyes. Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe but cheese isn't in MY hoppin' john. I like to serve the rice on the side. Just a green salad as accompaniment rounds out a hearty New Year's Day meal. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I love beans and thought this recipe was good. Like with everything I cook, Rotel tomatoes are a staple. I cooked them in my rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I'm a senior citizen and grew up in SC. I have eaten Hoppin' John every New Year's day of my life. This is very similar to the way we make it except we've always used Field (Cow) Peas, NOT black eyed peas. We do add little garlic. I cook my peas the day before to cut down on time on New Year's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
2 questions: 1) can this be made in a slow-cooker? 2) what would you use for the rest of the menu?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I also added Rotel and garlic - everyone loved it. Also, I just used a small pre-baked ham from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My grandmother and mother have made Hoppin John for as long as I can remember, and this is just as good (if not better). I must admit upfront that I have never been a fan and only eat it out of tradition's sake. However,as another user noted it is wonderfully rich and thick. I did try something different this year and did not stir the beans into the rice and think that it turned out better (just looked better). Also, I'm not certain why you need the cheese. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States