Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
As many other have, I made my own variation of this recipe and the flavor was just amazing! First, I sliced in half a stick of butter, the onion, chopped up about 7 cloves of fresh garlic and used one of the packets of crushed red pepper that you get from the pizza parlor. I used 2 cups of black-eyed peas because that was the size of the package. I boiled the beans then simmered for about 25 minutes, then drained and rinsed under cold water. I then placed the sauteed onions, garlic and crushed red pepper into my crock pot, along with the leftover Honey Baked Ham we had for Christmas, keeping the bones in the pot for the whole cooking time. Then added the beans, about 3 1/2 cups of water, salt and pepper. No cheese. I steamed some Jasmine rice and served it separately. The flavor was rich and packs a lingering punch from the little bit of red pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
It doesn't matter what you flavor the black-eyed peas with, it is consuming the black-eyed peas themselves that 'bring your good luck'. These are like pinto beans in that everyone has their favorite ingredients. I've made black-eyed peas for New Years, for over 60 years and I do not always make it with the rice in it for in the leftovers the rice absorbs all the juice. If I make a huge pot then I allow them to mix their peas with the rice themselves. They should be cooked with either a smoked ham hock or a ham bone, I put sofrito in mine plus either 1 serrano pepper or 1 jalapeno, minced (with seeds) as I prefer the heat. Remember that serranos are hotter than jalapenos. And you must have cornbread (sans sugar-with sugar is corncake folks)...Enjoy whether you like it spicy or bland! May you all have a prosperous 2010!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
The recipe didn't sound very good to me, but my husband wanted me to make it. I will make it again. I enjoyed it, but had to add a lot more water, the beans and rice soaked up a lot of it. Next time I will try soaking the beans the night before, and then follow the recipe. It was very easy to make and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
We've eaten this for years, but usually use a can of field peas instead of black eyed peas. Since they don't need to cook long I just cut up some ham and cook it in a skillet until it starts to brown and sprinkle over the top of the meal. It makes it a VERY fast prep and a very healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good! I added some jalapeno and green bell pepper and served on New Years Day. Everyone at the table loved them, even those that don't like black eyed peas. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very tasty - and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe was good, but a little bland. I think maybe some added bacon or ham would help it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristi05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe was great. I had to make some revisions because of not having the exact ingrediants. I took the advice from another reviewer and used chicken broth instead of water. Cut up smoke sausage instead of ham hocks. Used 1 can of French Onion soup. I only left the rice out because my husband doesn't care for rice. Served this with hot out-of-the-oven cornbread. Will definetly be making this again. ** I would advise to soak the peas overnight. I cooked this with the crock pot for 10 hours and they were still a little crunchy. Had to finish in the pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States