Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I make Hoppin John with Black Eyed Peas every New Year's Day. I used to make it with Smoked Ham Hocks, but as one of my sons became a vegetarian 5 years ago... I now make a Vegetarian Version which follows this recipe closely, but instead of Meat I use a couple teaspoons of Liquid Smoke, Olive Oil, and smoked veggie bacon. Only add 1 cup of rice during the last 1/2 hour and pre-soak the black eyed peas. We use much more liquid (vegetable broth is good) and add Tabasco Sauce to taste after taking it off the flame. Serve with my cornbread and collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Be in I'm from the South I been makin' this my whole livin' life! We call it "poor man's supper" Always have cornbread and make it a meal. No red pepper flakes add a little sugar to peas and cook the rice (not with the peas) is my only changes. Roll Tide!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skipper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
With my changes, this is now a 5 star dish. First, I used 1 lb. of dried black-eyed peas and 4 bay leafs and put them in my crock pot on warm. I really didn't think I would be doing any cooking until the morning, but 4 hours later, the peas were tender, so I drained the peas and removed the bay leafs. I put the peas back in the crock pot with 1 large white onion that I had diced and sauteed along with 4 cloves of chopped garlic and 4 diced jalapenos - 2 of which I seeded before sauteeing. I then added a 20 ounce can of petite tomatoes with the liquid and stirred, and one diced red smoked and seeded red pepper. I then sauteed approx. 2 lbs. of chicken sausage without the casings, but with the 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Once drained, I added that to the pot and stirred. I added 2 tablespoons of kosher salt, a 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, and 2 tablespoons of cumin for that smoky flavor. I added 4 cups of water and 4 bouillon cubes, and stirred it altogether. After about an hour when everything was hot and the flavors melded together, I tasted it and realized it would be too spicy for my friends (they don't eat pork), so I added a 1/2 cup of honey, and a lot of the heat dissipated. I then cooled that overnight and reheated it in the morning. The flavors were perfect, but the stew was a bit too soupy for my tastes. So, I added 1 cup of medium grain white rice and 2 lbs. of fresh chopped spinach. I also omitted the shredded cheese. Served with hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I had never thought of using cheddar cheese with Hoppin' John but think it's a good addition. Rotels and a couple of tablespoons of catsup added something a little extra as well. Let's face it: Southerners know how to make good simple grub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
A very , very good recipe, but I added about 1/4C chopped jalapinos instead of the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
If you make this with bacon and use the grease to flavor the dish, it is really much better. Top with cold, cut canned tomatoes and a little hot sauce, YUM!!! Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I've made this dish for the past three years. I take the quick route and use a can of Goya or Bush's black-eyed peas. This year, I used left-over ham that I cut into bite-sized chunks. I used a 1/2 cup of chopped mixed peppers (red, yellow, and green), 1/4 cup red onion and 1/4 cup yellow onion, 1 celery stalk chopped, 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, 2 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp garlic powder, sea salt and fresh ground pepper, and a few dashes of hot sauce. I cooked the veggies in 1 tbsp of olive oil. Then added the spices, ham, and peas and let it simmer while I boiled a bag of Uncle Ben's brown rice (10-12 minutes). Even my 7 yr old loves this dish. Tastes great with cornbread! And don't forget the collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
There was nothing bland about this delicious dish! I followed the recipe but in addition, added three chopped jalapenos, four chopped roma tomatoes, three garlic cloves and two pork chops that were sitting in the refrigerator. I used two cups of rice instead of three. I was cooking this New Year's Eve and it smelled so good, my husband and I had a bowl for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
To make a stunning presentation of your Hoppin' John, start with a large letuce leaf on each plate (romaine works well), then add a layer of rice (we use jasmine), then the beans, a layer of cheddar cheese, a spoonful of sour cream, then chopped tomatoes, and finally chopped green onions. Make each layer smaller than the last so you have a colorful pyramid of delicious food. Beautiful to look at and delcious to eat! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I have made this several times and love it! I found the smoky cheese to be a terrific addition to this dish! Wal-Mart has the smoky cheddar cheese and also smoky cheddar/swiss cheese at a very reasonable price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States