Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Awful the rice overpowered all the other flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Ford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great basic recipe that is even better with more spice and ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Takes too long to make. It was long grain rice that ruined the whole meal. I added more water and the rice still didn't set up right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Excellent base, listened to others, prepped the black eye peas, added plenty of spicy sliced peppers, a shallot, plenty of garlic, sliced bacon, bay leafs, and a can of diced spicy tomatoes with a little brown sugar to cut the tomatos acidity and yes we like spicy, but still was not too spicy for us...ooo and substitued chicken stock for the water...cooked the rice at the end and just put the Hoppin John on top of the rice to serve..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was good! I made it with 4 chicken legs instead of ham hocks, as my daughter doesn't eat pork. Also added a chopped red bell pepper. It definitely needs some salt and pepper at the end, and Frank's hot sauce was a popular addition around the table. I made wilted kale with garlic and balsamic vinegar on the side, and that mixed well with the Hoppin' John, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I like this a lot. I improvised with navy beans it was fantastic with ham rice and beans on a cold wintee night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I cooked the rice totally separately. For the ideas, I did a "quick soak" on the dried black eyed peas (bring to a boil, then soak for am hour.) . I sautéed onions with a couple of stalks of celery and some garlic. Then put the recipe ingredients into the crock pot. Cooked on low for about 6 hours. In the meantime, I cooked 1 pound of smoked sausage slices, and drained on a paper towel. After slow cooking the peas, I added 1 can of rotel, and the smoked sausage. Cooked for another hour. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was a pretty good hoppin john! My husband ate the whole pot and my son gave it 1 thumb up.,....(he's not a pea fan). Will make again! Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Gee
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this today with a buffalo chicken rice, chicken stock, bacon (didn't have ham hocks), green, red, white onions and scallions & added corn. Honey and I both loved it (which is always the test of a 5 star rating )!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was good. I made it mostly like the recipe except I soaked my BEP first, and then rinsed and drained them, as I was not going to cook them for a few more hours and I didn't want them to sit in the soaking water for that long. That might have removed extra flavor...not sure. But, as many have said, this is a simple meal, and meant to be that way, so that being said, it was good! I also added celery and red pepper (I have no green ones), and used up some ham from my freezer instead of the hock, and was about 1/4 cup short on BEP. We love BEP's, so next time, I would definitely use about 2 cups instead. My 12 year old daughter ate 3 servings, so this is a keeper at my house. It is similar to another recipe we make, except that one has bacon, carrots, and actually calls for celery and green pepper. We serve it with rice (cooked separately) or corn bread. Over all, a good, comforting meal, and hoping the BEP's bring another good year for us! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States