Hoot-n Holler Baby Back Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
"These are the best ribs I've ever had," were the first words out of my husband's mouth. I had almost 4 pounds of baby backs, and I went with the 12-oz. bottle of Lawry's Mesquite Marinade. I added an extra onion, quartered, to the par-boil liquid. The onions were so delicious at the end of cooking, that I served them as a perfect side dish with a pat of butter, S&P. I also added a few extra bay leaves and one Tbs. of minced garlic-from-the-jar to the par-boil liquid. Omitted the brown sugar, because I didn't want sweet ribs, but I'll try the sugar another time. Grilled the ribs 7 minutes per side. Tender and moist results -- outstanding! Thanks for this simple, yet over-the-top delicious recipe -- fit for a king!! P.S. It's now July 5, 2010, and this is still my go-to recipe for babyback ribs. Everyone loves them. I now throw in about 4 onions to serve as a side dish. I think that the sugar can make these ribs too sweet, compromising the good "barbecue" taste. Lastly, the leftover broth is delicious, so I chill it overnight, skim the solidified fat layer, and then use it for other dishes. For example, I cook Italian sausages in a cup or two of the rib broth to make subs. I also make a huge pot roast in the crockpot with the rib broth mixed with half pkg. of dry onion soup and sometimes throw in a can of mushroom soup. You can think of all sorts of uses for the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I'm glad I went for this one although there hadn't been any reviews before mine. I loved it. We loved it. The changes I made were minor. I added 1 more bay leaf, quartered a large onion and sprinkled some rub into the water mix as well. It smelled great as it was cooking and our mouths were salivating even prior to grilling. I doubled the sauce because I had 3 racks of ribs. I think that next time I'll either use a different BBQ sauce than Sweet Baby Ray's or use it but decrease the brown. It was just a tad sweeter than I've liked. But over all it was moist and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These ribs were the crowd favorite at our Father's Day cook out! We all thought they were better than anything you would order in a restaurant; and they were so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My potluck crowd kept asking for more! It was tender after the boil and the bbq-brown sugar glaze topped it off well; especially using Stubb's or Rudy's bbq sauce. I used country style ribs instead of baby back. I didn't have a large stockpot so I split the ribs into 2 pots with each pot consisting of water to cover, 1/2 the marinade, 2 bay leaves, 1/4 large onion. Total prep and cooking time took no more than 1hr -- too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Seriously Yummy and Easy! I didn't have "marinade" so I just used BBQ sauce in the water...soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great recipe! The first time we made them, the ribs burned on the bbq because of the brown sugar in the sauce, but the second time we put the sauce on later and they turned out perfectly...not too tender that they fall off the bone, but so tender that they're easy to eat! Thanks for the base for great ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Simple recipe that tastes like you've slow cooked the baby backs for hours. I agree with some of the other reviews that using either BBQ sauce or mesquite marinade in the stockpot makes no difference in the finished product. The one thing that I've tried different was to remove the thin membrane that you typically find covering racks of ribs.... I got much better feedback from the racks in which I left the membrane in tact.... I won't ever use another recipe for rigs again....this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stosh63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Let me preface by saying I don't love ribs of any kind, baby back, country, spare ribs, etc. I made this recipe for some family members that do love ribs. This recipe was absolutely delicious. I was skeptical because this was so easy, but loved that this took so few ingredients, and tasted like I slow cooked these all day. If you like your bbq sauce a touch spicy or are used to spicy barbeque in general, I put some louisiana hot sauce on mine. Delicious. Tender without falling apart. Will definitely be my go to recipe for ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are great. Here are a few suggestions: 1. Peel cavity side to expose fat. More fat will be boiled away. If rack is thick, simmer for a full hour. 2. Formulate witch's brew with beef bouillon and spices to make beef stew. After boiling ribs, chill liquid, skim fat, and prepare stew. 3. Cut ribs in 2-bone sections, paint with a variety of sauces and then refrigerate or freeze for serving as hors d'oeuvres or small meals later. 4. Painted sections carmelize nicely on grill, under broiler and even in the microwave. Sometimes I sprinkle a little bourbon on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNBill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These turned out amazing, but I had to boil them WAY longer than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States