Hoot-n Holler Baby Back Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Extremely tender..the meat came right off the bones. I used KC Masterpiece Mesquite marinade, 4 bay leaves, a large onion and about 4 lbs of baby back ribs, and finished them on the grill with Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce (did not add sugar). My husband didn't think they were spicy enough and added some pepper to his so next time I'll use a spicier BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a great way to cook ribs! I have used this recipe several times. It is easy with excellent results every time. The only thing I do different is omit the sugar because the barbeque sauce I use (Bullseye Guinness) already has enough in it for our liking. I also put whatever kind of broth I have on hand in the boiling liquid. If I don't have the marinade I just use barbeque sauce instead and it makes no difference. Last time, after taking the ribs out to grill I threw some new potatoes and frozen corn-on-the-cob in the pot boiled until tender. Wa-La! A whole meal! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe is excellent!! My picky family enjoyed these ribs and asked when I would make them again even before we left our table. I left out the brown sugar and used the McCormick mesquite marinate in the packet. Finger licking delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These are so awesome! I agree with the first person... use 4 bay leaves. SO good. McCormick makes a wonderful musquite marinate. We put it in our burgers too. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great recipe - especially when it takes 1 1/2 hours from start to finish. Would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
"These are the best ribs I've ever had," were the first words out of my husband's mouth. I had almost 4 pounds of baby backs, and I went with the 12-oz. bottle of Lawry's Mesquite Marinade. I added an extra onion, quartered, to the par-boil liquid. The onions were so delicious at the end of cooking, that I served them as a perfect side dish with a pat of butter, S&P. I also added a few extra bay leaves and one Tbs. of minced garlic-from-the-jar to the par-boil liquid. Omitted the brown sugar, because I didn't want sweet ribs, but I'll try the sugar another time. Grilled the ribs 7 minutes per side. Tender and moist results -- outstanding! Thanks for this simple, yet over-the-top delicious recipe -- fit for a king!! P.S. It's now July 5, 2010, and this is still my go-to recipe for babyback ribs. Everyone loves them. I now throw in about 4 onions to serve as a side dish. I think that the sugar can make these ribs too sweet, compromising the good "barbecue" taste. Lastly, the leftover broth is delicious, so I chill it overnight, skim the solidified fat layer, and then use it for other dishes. For example, I cook Italian sausages in a cup or two of the rib broth to make subs. I also make a huge pot roast in the crockpot with the rib broth mixed with half pkg. of dry onion soup and sometimes throw in a can of mushroom soup. You can think of all sorts of uses for the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very good ribs. followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I had a real hankerin' for baby back ribs a few weeks ago, so tried this recipe. Boy am I glad I did. It was great! Had it for a cookout with family and friends, and everyone raved about how good they were. Couldn't believe how easy it was. Having a family reunion in a couple weeks, and plan on making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supergramma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ilion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
These ribs are AWESOME!!!! I made them 3 nights ago and plan on making them again this weekend when we have a bunch of guests coming!! This is one of my new favorite recipes!! Easy but wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Let me preface by saying I don't love ribs of any kind, baby back, country, spare ribs, etc. I made this recipe for some family members that do love ribs. This recipe was absolutely delicious. I was skeptical because this was so easy, but loved that this took so few ingredients, and tasted like I slow cooked these all day. If you like your bbq sauce a touch spicy or are used to spicy barbeque in general, I put some louisiana hot sauce on mine. Delicious. Tender without falling apart. Will definitely be my go to recipe for ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States