Hoot Owl Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
awesome cookies taste and look great!. would love to make these cookies for my daughters nut free school. any ideas for a non nut beak?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My Mom has made these for me since I was just a little girl, and we always LOVED them in our family. Somehow, we miss placed my Mom's recipe, so I am so happy to find this one! The only thing we do differently is we use smarties for the eyes, for a nice bit of colour. So yummy and cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danakscully64
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and my cookies turned out DELICIOUS. I cut the recipe in half and within a few hours, half of the cookies were gone (my boyfriend and I can't get enough of them). One tip: Don't preheat the oven as step 1, the dough has to chill for 2 hours, what a waste of energy. Will be making these many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danakscully64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These are super tasty! And, beyond adorable. I wanted to make some nut-free, so I pressed a candy corn into the cookies right when they came out of the oven for beaks. Also, for some I pressed a black m&m over the chocolate chip eyes while still warm from the oven. Lots of fun things you can do with these, I can't wait to show everyone how cute they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
these were great! i made these for a Halloween party and they were a hit! i used white chocolate chips for the eyes, and instead of putting them on before they baked i put them on after i pulled them out of the oven so they wouldn't get toasty and dry. i'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This recipe works so much better using m&m's for the eyes instead of chocolate chips. Try it! A perfect little cookie for halloween parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe has been around since the 60s. My mom made them for us every fall. Original recipe uses margarine, not butter, and used 1 1/2 squares bittersweet choc. melted with 1/2 tsp soda added to the chocolate. I've learned to roll the lighter dough around two chocolate logs to form a single oval shaped dough log to chill. This way, they don't break in two so easily. My favorite thing about them: when they bake, they all take on different personalities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very cute!! I sifted the flour, baking powder and salt together before adding, and I used butterscotch chips for the eyes and an almond for the beak. The dough was very easy to roll, and the cookies tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Fantastic recipe- clever, adorable and tasty! My friend and I made these for a party and they were an absolute hit! We tried the m&m and chocolate chip idea and it turned out that just baking the m&ms tends to crack them, while just the chocolate chip is rather plain. We ended up using the baked (melted) chocolate chips to 'glue' the m&ms into place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These are very cute, and they introduced me to a new cookie method - I can now see myself doing swirls and other fun things with refrigerated dough. The recipe does leave out a few things that most bakers 'know' - like you need a little flour on your work surface when rolling out the dough, the pan needs to be greased, and they need to sit on the pan for a minute before removing. I used butterscotch chips for the eyes so they would stand out from the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States