Hoot Owl Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These are super tasty! And, beyond adorable. I wanted to make some nut-free, so I pressed a candy corn into the cookies right when they came out of the oven for beaks. Also, for some I pressed a black m&m over the chocolate chip eyes while still warm from the oven. Lots of fun things you can do with these, I can't wait to show everyone how cute they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by danakscully64
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and my cookies turned out DELICIOUS. I cut the recipe in half and within a few hours, half of the cookies were gone (my boyfriend and I can't get enough of them). One tip: Don't preheat the oven as step 1, the dough has to chill for 2 hours, what a waste of energy. Will be making these many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danakscully64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Thank you! Thank you! I was first introduced to this recipe when I was in a homemaking class in 8th grade. Over the years (almost 50) I lost this recipe so it was great to find this one. I changed the sugar to 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white and chilled in the freezer for a couple of hours. They don't have to be exactly round--the shape gives them a little character. They taste good and look just darling! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Fantastic recipe- clever, adorable and tasty! My friend and I made these for a party and they were an absolute hit! We tried the m&m and chocolate chip idea and it turned out that just baking the m&ms tends to crack them, while just the chocolate chip is rather plain. We ended up using the baked (melted) chocolate chips to 'glue' the m&ms into place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe has been around since the 60s. My mom made them for us every fall. Original recipe uses margarine, not butter, and used 1 1/2 squares bittersweet choc. melted with 1/2 tsp soda added to the chocolate. I've learned to roll the lighter dough around two chocolate logs to form a single oval shaped dough log to chill. This way, they don't break in two so easily. My favorite thing about them: when they bake, they all take on different personalities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
these were great! i made these for a Halloween party and they were a hit! i used white chocolate chips for the eyes, and instead of putting them on before they baked i put them on after i pulled them out of the oven so they wouldn't get toasty and dry. i'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My Mom has made these for me since I was just a little girl, and we always LOVED them in our family. Somehow, we miss placed my Mom's recipe, so I am so happy to find this one! The only thing we do differently is we use smarties for the eyes, for a nice bit of colour. So yummy and cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I have made these two 'falls' now. My children really like them. You have to use real butter-it is a butter cookie. I use swirled chocolate/white chips for the eyes and they look really cool! These are a hit when given as gifts as well. Highly recommend. Cute, tastey, pretty easy-a keeper! Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This recipe works so much better using m&m's for the eyes instead of chocolate chips. Try it! A perfect little cookie for halloween parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These are very cute, and they introduced me to a new cookie method - I can now see myself doing swirls and other fun things with refrigerated dough. The recipe does leave out a few things that most bakers 'know' - like you need a little flour on your work surface when rolling out the dough, the pan needs to be greased, and they need to sit on the pan for a minute before removing. I used butterscotch chips for the eyes so they would stand out from the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States