Hoot Owl Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Super cute. I needed them to be nut free so I used smarties for eyes and banana runts for the beak. I can't wait to show them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love this recipe and have been trying to find it for a long time. My daughter also was in a 7th grade Home Ec. class in the 80's and this was the first cookie she ever made. Thanks Lisa for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These cookies are Owl-licious! I can't imagine whoooooo wouldn't want one? Owl be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I am a Harry Potter FaNATic and tonight is the premiere of the last movie :) I made these for while we're waiting in line to munch on! Soooo good! Subbed some of the butter with peanut butter today :) i've made it both ways tho and both are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoMama2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA
Photo by m3ghan
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
delicious, and everyone thinks they are adorable! once the dough is frozen in rolls it's even yummy to just eat a few slices of the dough. :) you can basically use whatever edible candy/chocolate small enough for the eyes and nose :) and they all look so different. i love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I don't know if I'll ever make these but they sure are fun to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very cute!! I sifted the flour, baking powder and salt together before adding, and I used butterscotch chips for the eyes and an almond for the beak. The dough was very easy to roll, and the cookies tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These are very cute, and they introduced me to a new cookie method - I can now see myself doing swirls and other fun things with refrigerated dough. The recipe does leave out a few things that most bakers 'know' - like you need a little flour on your work surface when rolling out the dough, the pan needs to be greased, and they need to sit on the pan for a minute before removing. I used butterscotch chips for the eyes so they would stand out from the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe has been around since the 60s. My mom made them for us every fall. Original recipe uses margarine, not butter, and used 1 1/2 squares bittersweet choc. melted with 1/2 tsp soda added to the chocolate. I've learned to roll the lighter dough around two chocolate logs to form a single oval shaped dough log to chill. This way, they don't break in two so easily. My favorite thing about them: when they bake, they all take on different personalities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
these were great! i made these for a Halloween party and they were a hit! i used white chocolate chips for the eyes, and instead of putting them on before they baked i put them on after i pulled them out of the oven so they wouldn't get toasty and dry. i'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States