Hoot Owl Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Super cute. I needed them to be nut free so I used smarties for eyes and banana runts for the beak. I can't wait to show them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love this recipe and have been trying to find it for a long time. My daughter also was in a 7th grade Home Ec. class in the 80's and this was the first cookie she ever made. Thanks Lisa for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These cookies are Owl-licious! I can't imagine whoooooo wouldn't want one? Owl be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I am a Harry Potter FaNATic and tonight is the premiere of the last movie :) I made these for while we're waiting in line to munch on! Soooo good! Subbed some of the butter with peanut butter today :) i've made it both ways tho and both are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoMama2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA
Photo by m3ghan
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
delicious, and everyone thinks they are adorable! once the dough is frozen in rolls it's even yummy to just eat a few slices of the dough. :) you can basically use whatever edible candy/chocolate small enough for the eyes and nose :) and they all look so different. i love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I don't know if I'll ever make these but they sure are fun to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very cute!! I sifted the flour, baking powder and salt together before adding, and I used butterscotch chips for the eyes and an almond for the beak. The dough was very easy to roll, and the cookies tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These are very cute, and they introduced me to a new cookie method - I can now see myself doing swirls and other fun things with refrigerated dough. The recipe does leave out a few things that most bakers 'know' - like you need a little flour on your work surface when rolling out the dough, the pan needs to be greased, and they need to sit on the pan for a minute before removing. I used butterscotch chips for the eyes so they would stand out from the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe has been around since the 60s. My mom made them for us every fall. Original recipe uses margarine, not butter, and used 1 1/2 squares bittersweet choc. melted with 1/2 tsp soda added to the chocolate. I've learned to roll the lighter dough around two chocolate logs to form a single oval shaped dough log to chill. This way, they don't break in two so easily. My favorite thing about them: when they bake, they all take on different personalities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
these were great! i made these for a Halloween party and they were a hit! i used white chocolate chips for the eyes, and instead of putting them on before they baked i put them on after i pulled them out of the oven so they wouldn't get toasty and dry. i'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States