Hong Kong Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was my second time preparing this dish. It is AMAZING! I add diced sweet pickles and maraschino cherries for both colour and sweetness. I also poured about 1/4 cup of the pineapple juice into the sauce. Used cayenne flakes instead of actual peppers. I served it with coconut rice. Very nice meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
good balance of sweet and sour. Added a can of sliced water chestnuts with the other veggies for some crunch. Also added a little corn starch and a little red pepper to the sauce ( to make up for the onission of the fresh cayenne pepper in the vegies)to the sauce to thicken it and then did not add in the pork until right at the end to keep it crisp. Adjust the seasoning with salt and black pepper and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is a great recipe! Very easy. I did not use 2 cups of peanut oil - only 1/2 cup in a frying pan. I also didn't use an egg as the pork was moist from marinating. Used cornstarch instead of potato starch. The pork turned out to be amazing! So did the sauce. I followed the directions for the sauce closely - just instead of 2 Tablespoons white vinegar I did 1 Tablespoon white vinegar, 1/2 T white wine vinegar and 1/2 T rice wine vinegar. Will definitely be making this again! As others have mentioned, the flavors were very well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this as directed except substituting regular flour for some of the potato starch and using corn starch for the rest. It was very good. The sauce thickened up nicely. My son actually went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This really is as good as everyone says. It's better than what you get at the restaurants, minus the msg! My kids loved it too. I only had a little bit of corn starch on hand (no potato starch -- where do you buy that?!?) so I used regular flour for the breading. Worked great. Just make sure the oil is hot enough before you add the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is awesome! The flavor is fantastic. The only thing I did different is used red pepper instead of green and omitted the cayenne peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Awesome! I wasn't sure about the ketchup, but this turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHEROF02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Used cornstarch and canola oil and frozen stir-fry blend vegtables. Served over rice. This was sooooooo good. Just like the chinese food restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great recipe. To shorten prep time I just beat the egg directly over the pork, then placed the pork pieces in a bag to shake the coating. I also used only a tsp of oil in a non-stick frying pan to pan-fry the pork instead of deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I generally try not to rate a recipe unless I've followed it to the letter, but like so many others, finding potato flour/starch where I live is either impossible or way too pricey. I used corn starch for the marinade and the sauce, and rice flour to coat the pork, but followed the rest as written and WHAT an excellent dish! It does take a little work to put together, but nothing most any other meal wouldn't also take. I've seen the double fry method used in a lot of Asian recipes, and I don't know what the exact trick is, but it sure makes for the light and crispy coating that can be so illusive, so it's worth the extra dip in oil (especially peanut oil). VERY good S&S; hubby went back for seconds (RARE) and I'll be making it again (and again, & again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States