Hong Kong Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is a great recipe! Very easy. I did not use 2 cups of peanut oil - only 1/2 cup in a frying pan. I also didn't use an egg as the pork was moist from marinating. Used cornstarch instead of potato starch. The pork turned out to be amazing! So did the sauce. I followed the directions for the sauce closely - just instead of 2 Tablespoons white vinegar I did 1 Tablespoon white vinegar, 1/2 T white wine vinegar and 1/2 T rice wine vinegar. Will definitely be making this again! As others have mentioned, the flavors were very well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this as directed except substituting regular flour for some of the potato starch and using corn starch for the rest. It was very good. The sauce thickened up nicely. My son actually went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This really is as good as everyone says. It's better than what you get at the restaurants, minus the msg! My kids loved it too. I only had a little bit of corn starch on hand (no potato starch -- where do you buy that?!?) so I used regular flour for the breading. Worked great. Just make sure the oil is hot enough before you add the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is awesome! The flavor is fantastic. The only thing I did different is used red pepper instead of green and omitted the cayenne peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Awesome! I wasn't sure about the ketchup, but this turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHEROF02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Used cornstarch and canola oil and frozen stir-fry blend vegtables. Served over rice. This was sooooooo good. Just like the chinese food restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great recipe. To shorten prep time I just beat the egg directly over the pork, then placed the pork pieces in a bag to shake the coating. I also used only a tsp of oil in a non-stick frying pan to pan-fry the pork instead of deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I generally try not to rate a recipe unless I've followed it to the letter, but like so many others, finding potato flour/starch where I live is either impossible or way too pricey. I used corn starch for the marinade and the sauce, and rice flour to coat the pork, but followed the rest as written and WHAT an excellent dish! It does take a little work to put together, but nothing most any other meal wouldn't also take. I've seen the double fry method used in a lot of Asian recipes, and I don't know what the exact trick is, but it sure makes for the light and crispy coating that can be so illusive, so it's worth the extra dip in oil (especially peanut oil). VERY good S&S; hubby went back for seconds (RARE) and I'll be making it again (and again, & again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I added the pineapple juice and little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Love this recipe. Very easy to make, though I think next time I will cut down on the sugar just a little (maybe 1 Tablespoon less.) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States