Hong Kong Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Overall I really like this recipe. Easy to put together compared to some asian type recipes. I dislike thick sauces and this one is just right. Looks a little runny when cooking but by the time you add the port and veggies then on to the plate its the right consistency. Great flavor too and I did not add the red food coloring. Only variations I did as I did not have potato starch. I used corn starch for the sauce and marinade. I used King Arthur flour for the pork - still came out very crunch and great texture once the sauce was added. Love this recipe and will add it to my reliable favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
first rating on here.. excellent dish... follow it to the T ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Don't change a thing! Perfect! (I used corn starch instead, but it's the same thing,)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I first learned to make this in Korea..it is delicious...I lost the recipe on my move back to the USA..so glad to "find" it again!! (corn starch is agreat substitute for the potatoe starch, and for less thick coating, dip the pork right into the starch from the marinade. omitting the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Loved this recipe! It was very simple to make, and the dish tasted heavenly. It was nicely crispy without the unnecessary breading that usually surrounds the pork. The marinade really added a lot of flavor to the pork. I substituted corn starch for the potato starch since I already had it, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent dish! It has a wonderfully complex flavor and is relatively easy to make. Like some others I coated the pork in cornstarch, it worked nicely and gave it a good crunch. I used 1/2t ground red pepper and two fresh mild Jalapenos instead of the (unavailable) fresh red chili peppers. It tasted great. Next time I will definitely double the sauce recipe. The only other thing I think that I did to change it was to add double the ketchup/vinegar & sugar to the sauce. I wanted mine to have a little more of a kick to it. Thank you so much for a delicious dinner that I will serve again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Beeeuatiful dish! Couple of changes - added bean sprouts to bring up the veggie level. Doubled the sauce but found that it was not necessary - next time I won't. Used corn starch. The pork was sooo good! Takes a little time to prep/cook the pork but was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe, Betsy. I used cornstarch in place of potato starch and simply rolled the marinated pork pieces directly in it, skipping the egg bath. This worked out well and saved significant time. I also forewent the double frying of the pork. Even after these modifications, this was still a 5 star recipe all the way. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Thanks, Betsy - Great recipe! I have another excellent S&S Pork recipe from this site, but was intrigued with the double-frying of the pork in this one. Being a true carnivore, I used 2+ pounds of pork (boneless country ribs, trimmed of fat), so I doubled the marinade and the egg for dredging. Everything else was kept as written. The pork bits had a very nice crunch to them and the sauce was not the sickeningly-sweet stuff that so many recipes make. At first, I thought there might be a little too much vinegar in the sauce, but even that ended up just right. I served the sauce over rice, topped that with the pork bits, then drizzled a little more sauce over the pork. My guest said she has never had such well balanced flavor in a sweet and sour dish. PS: I really couldn't tell the difference in the crunch between the pork bits that had been fried twice versus those that had had taken only one trip through the hot oil, but it may be more in the way they absorb (or rather, do not absorb) the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I have been yearning for a sweet & sour recipe that rivals my favorite Chinese restaurant in London's Chinatown, and I think I have found it! I improvised a bit to assure the meat would stay crispy by only adding the meat on top of the sauce at serving time (not stirring it in and cooking as the recipe states). I also improvised due to the lack of some of the ingredients. I stir fried the bell pepper with carrots and yellow onions, and my pineapple substitute was pineapple chutney but I could have skipped it all together as the sauce was sweet enough without it. Thanks Betsey for a new way to cook the same old pork chop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States