Hong Kong Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I added the pineapple juice and little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Love this recipe. Very easy to make, though I think next time I will cut down on the sugar just a little (maybe 1 Tablespoon less.) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Good recipe; I did use a couple of adaptions, substituting corn starch for potato starch, sesame oil for the peanut oil (used what I had on hand) & I threw in some sesame seeds. Oh yeah, instead of white vinegar, I used some of my homemade raspberry vinegar and I added some pineapple juice to the sauce. It was really good, considering I used left over fried pork chops cutting them up for the stir fry & served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
YUM!!!! This was great! LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love sweet and sour pork but I have had never been able to find a recipe that comes close to a restaurant. Every recipe I have ever tried turns out disgusting so I stopped trying. The sweet and sour sauce alone in this recipe is so yummy. I double it so I have plenty to put on the meat. It looks thin, but when you add it to the meat, it thickens. It is soooo good. We eat it at least once every couple of weeks unless I crave it earlier. This is the first review I have ever written. It was that good. I didn't have any of the special oils so I just used veg. oil when it called for peanut or sesame. I also just use stew meat for the meat. It might be better the way the recipe is written but this works for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I thought this was really, really good. I used a 4oz diced can of pineapple & added the juice only to the sauce portion. I used cider vinegar instead of white. Served over brown rice , sprinkled with green onions. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
An absolute favorite in our house. I cannot believe that the sauce I have been trying to copy for years is basically just ketchup, sugar and vinegar! Using the potato starch makes it crunchy yet light. Instead of 2 cups oil, I only used enough oil to cover the bottom of a small pan and, in batches, cooked the pork, flipping it half way through cooking. As well, I did not mix the meat into the sauce but served on the plate beside rice covered in the sauteed veggies and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Lacking in flavor, this was neither sweet nor sour. I followed the recipe almost exactly--just adding some carrots and celery to fill out the veggie content. Sweet and Sour Pork III is a much tastier and easier recipe and I will be going back to it for my sweet and sour fix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I did not particularly care for sweet and sour chicken or pork because it was always to cloyingly sweet. This was the best I have ever tasted and I am now a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this last night for my parents. We are in Costa Rica now so I couldn't get some of the ingredients. Needless to say there are no Chinese Restaurants here! My father said this was the best sweet sour pork he has ever had, and since he is retired military and has been all over the world that's really saying something! Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States