Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Boy, were my parents surprised to come home to find fresh, homemade egg tarts! We're a Chinese family living in San Francisco who go out to Chinatown every weekend, so we know our Chinese dim sum! After starting the crust, I realized I didn't have any evaporated milk, so I substituted instant skim milk powder reconstituted in water (we don't keep milk around the house). It still turned out great! The custard is perfect - just like the ones from Chinatown! Next time, I'll reduce the sugar in the crust because it reminded me of a sugar cookie. I also used a mini muffin tin because I didnt' have any tart shells. I would recommend rolling the dough into balls and rolling them out with a rolling pin because the crust was uneven and a little too thick in some of them. I would also lower the oven temperature next time because the crust was brown before the custard was set, though it may be because I used the mini muffin tin. The house smelled wonderful while these were baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These are absolutely delicious! I hesitated after seeing the mix reviews but decided to go ahead anyway.The recipe is easy to follow, and yes, the tarts taste like bought-from-store. I've reduced the sugar for the dough to 90gm and 100 gm for the custard as I do not like them too sweet. And yes, there is too much custard for the dough - you'll need 1.5 times of the dough to use up the custard. I've substituted evaporated milk with fresh milk and they still turn out great. I've tried replacing butter with margarine and regretted it - the tarts were bland. So just stick to butter. Will definitely make this again. My dad and husband were totally impressed! Thanks for the recipe :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
the egg custard was good, taste just like the ones from the chinese bakery shop. however, the pastry is somewhat flat - suggest using cake flour instead of plain flour for added fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I halved the recipe. There was indeed too much custard for the amount of dough. I derived 10 medium sized tarts from this recipe, though the leftover custard could have filled 5 more tart shells. I baked the tarts in 2 batches, the first batch was baked at 200 degrees celsius for 13 minutes. The tart shells came out perfect and golden, but the custard was overcooked on the top- there was a thick gel-like layer instead of wobbly custard goodness. I baked my second batch at 190 degrees celsius for 17 minutes; they turned out fantastically!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I tried using this recipe but face some problems from the start when I went to purchase the INGREDIENTS. I couldn't find CONFECTIONER'S SUGAR OR ALL-PURPOSE FLOUR. Maybe it's because the ingredients are different here. I had to use Self Raising Flour which didn't turn out the way it should, like the picture. I also have plenty of eggs left from the 9 eggs that were beaten. I thought it would be easy but it wasn't as easy as I thought. Could you tell me if its ok to use SELF RAISING FLOUR and should I purchase foil styled baking cases? As I found the paper baking cases weren't as good as the egg pours out of the tart. The tart also raise to high that it burns so fast at the top but that's because I've been using SELF RAISING FLOUR because I couldn't find ALL-PURPOSE FLOUR. Anyway, I hope you can help as I love Chinese Egg Tarts and want to learn how to make it so I can share with my friends and family. It cost 80p each for a Chinese Egg Tart here in Scotland and that's very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIANG
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
My family loved it! The filling was perfect. Except it was just a tad too sweet, i would use a different crust (no sugar added preferably) Just like from the bakeries and shops! would make again for sure. btw, i used a fork and made marks along the edges of the crust for a pretty effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANG

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Cocooned
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
The custard tasted okay and the crust is more like a sugar cookie. It'd be good just as a regular custard tart (maybe a 9 inch tart pan), and not Hong Kong Style. The Hong Kong egg tarts I've had in SF and in Hong Kong always had a puff pastry kind of crust, so next time I'll use puff pastry. I used a muffin (12), mini muffin (24), and 2 four-inch tart pans and still had enough dough to make more. There was also a lot of the filling left maybe about 2 cups. I had to use almost an extra stick of butter for the dough to hold together, and instead of using a fork I used a pastry blender. It’d probably be easier to use a food processor. My first batch the crust browned too much before the custard was set, so I lowered the temp and baked until the middle jiggled, then took it out of the oven. The middle of the tart should be more like a flan. I thought it tasted a bit eggy, I might just use less eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocooned

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This recipe was a failure because the temperature was way too high...my eggs were overcooked and chewy. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamerica
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I used the store bought frozen tart shells (in the section where the frozen pie crusts are), which makes this recipe easy and quick to make. I gave it four stars only because I have yet to make the shell myself and the store bought ones doesn't match the egg filling as well. This recipe yields 24 of the store bought frozen tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamerica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuvChanSe
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great recipe!!! Taste just like home!!!! I made it for my dad and he said the crust should be thicker than it will taste just like the tea house he used to go to in Hong Kong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvChanSe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States