Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
this recipe is very rich and very very tastey.it can be filled with whiped cream or ice cream or even a varity of fruits. It will be the talk of your desert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I'm a novice cook, so maybe I did this recipe wrong (that's why I gave it 2 stars instead of 1). But it turned out terrible for me. The dough was hard and kept cracking. I had to make the tart thicker so that it wouldn't fall apart. But it did anyways during baking (what a mess!). There was way too much egg mixture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These egg-tarts are easy to make but there is too much egg fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
These tasted right, but I had a problem with the filling boiling over while baking. It quickly burned on the baking sheet and set off my smoke detector. Can anyone suggest a way to prevent the boiling over? I would love to make this again, because what did come out tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I haven't made these, but in response to the review about the tarts falling appart: you're supposed make these tarts in mini aluminium pie shells! (reread the recipe: it says to use 'tart molds') Some restaurants also use paper muffin cups in muffin pans, which makes it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
My boyfriend is from Taiwan and came across this recipe for me to make him :). I did and he absolutely loves them! The dough is great, the filling is good, and together they are fabulous! I also had too much egg mixture for the shells, but my mom loves them with more of the custard. I made six in 3.5" tart shells and one 9" pie and it turned out great. This is a great recipe to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Boy, were my parents surprised to come home to find fresh, homemade egg tarts! We're a Chinese family living in San Francisco who go out to Chinatown every weekend, so we know our Chinese dim sum! After starting the crust, I realized I didn't have any evaporated milk, so I substituted instant skim milk powder reconstituted in water (we don't keep milk around the house). It still turned out great! The custard is perfect - just like the ones from Chinatown! Next time, I'll reduce the sugar in the crust because it reminded me of a sugar cookie. I also used a mini muffin tin because I didnt' have any tart shells. I would recommend rolling the dough into balls and rolling them out with a rolling pin because the crust was uneven and a little too thick in some of them. I would also lower the oven temperature next time because the crust was brown before the custard was set, though it may be because I used the mini muffin tin. The house smelled wonderful while these were baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cocooned
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
The custard tasted okay and the crust is more like a sugar cookie. It'd be good just as a regular custard tart (maybe a 9 inch tart pan), and not Hong Kong Style. The Hong Kong egg tarts I've had in SF and in Hong Kong always had a puff pastry kind of crust, so next time I'll use puff pastry. I used a muffin (12), mini muffin (24), and 2 four-inch tart pans and still had enough dough to make more. There was also a lot of the filling left maybe about 2 cups. I had to use almost an extra stick of butter for the dough to hold together, and instead of using a fork I used a pastry blender. It’d probably be easier to use a food processor. My first batch the crust browned too much before the custard was set, so I lowered the temp and baked until the middle jiggled, then took it out of the oven. The middle of the tart should be more like a flan. I thought it tasted a bit eggy, I might just use less eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocooned

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
this recipe was great =D i ended up making a gianntttt egg tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Very delicious!!! For a very authentic Chinese taste, I cut down the confectioners' sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 cup. I also cut down the white sugar just a tad. I also did not use canned evaporated, but skim milk for a more delicious and low-fat taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States