Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I halved the recipe. There was indeed too much custard for the amount of dough. I derived 10 medium sized tarts from this recipe, though the leftover custard could have filled 5 more tart shells. I baked the tarts in 2 batches, the first batch was baked at 200 degrees celsius for 13 minutes. The tart shells came out perfect and golden, but the custard was overcooked on the top- there was a thick gel-like layer instead of wobbly custard goodness. I baked my second batch at 190 degrees celsius for 17 minutes; they turned out fantastically!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
The crust tasted nothing like the crust of an egg tart but was yummy nonetheless. I would have to say that while this recipe was okay tasting, it did not resemble my idea of a traditional egg tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I looked for another egg tart recipe after my previous attempt came out with a rather unpastry-like crust. This one came out better, but unfortunately the temperature was far too high and the egg custard was cooked too much. It came out rather tough and not the jelly-like texture it was supposed to have. Also, several crusts burned, but that may have been due to the fan bake mode I was using on my oven. I'll have to experiment a bit more with this recipe. For all those looking to try it, you might want to lower the temp a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuvChanSe
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great recipe!!! Taste just like home!!!! I made it for my dad and he said the crust should be thicker than it will taste just like the tea house he used to go to in Hong Kong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvChanSe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I have had egg tarts both in San Francisco and here in Portland, OR. These compare very well, though to be honest, I am only comparing the filling. I was lazy and used prepared pie crust, as I was making them in mini muffin tins for a Chinese New Year potluck and needed a bunch (I would have finished with over 6 dozen had the dog not eaten some). The filling is a shade sweeter than the restaurant's tarts, but that's ok with me. FYI, use 4 pie crusts for the amount of filling shown. I like a high filling to crust ratio, so I rolled the crusts out a couple of inches to make them a little thinner. I had success with both the "roll it in a ball and press it in the tin" technique and the "roll it out and cut it with a biscuit cutter" technique. The biscuit cutter I have is fluted, so it made for pretty edges. I used a 2 1/2" cutter for the mini muffin tins, and baked 12 minutes at 425 degrees F. I also tried some of the pre-baked phyllo shells, but I did not like that the filling ran down under them. Hubby liked those best, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very authentic to what you would get at a Chinese bakery. The flavor of the custard was right on. I didn't have a strainer but the texture was perfect. As per other's suggestions I didn't as much sugar. It turned out very well, I'm very pleased :) and I had people asking me for the recipe! It made my Chinese New Year feast extra spectacular. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lens, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Pretty good recipe! I modded the crust recipe according to the reviews and used less icing sugar and used cake & pastry flour instead of all-purpose. I liked that the crust was slightly sweet, almost like a soft cookie, and not typical of those from the bakery/dim sum restaurant. Also, 450F was too hot for these tarts, so I baked them at 425F for around 15 min. I will definitely make these egg tarts again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I used a muffin tin to do it and I halved the recipe. I baked it for around 18 minutes. The filling initially rose but eventually collapsed. I also added in some milk for the crust, it was just too crumbly. The filling has a strong egg taste and not sweet enough (I was eating a store bought one to compare) The next time I'll make it I'll add in more sugar for the custard and one less egg. But definitely better than some other recipe that I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These taste similar but not quite exactly like the ones you buy at the asian store. After reading several reviews I cut back on the sugar for the dough and it turned out good. Not as flaky as the ones from the store but still good. I didn't have any evaporated milk on hand so substituted whole milk instead. The custard still turned out tasty. Very light and not dense. Cooked it 3 different temps: 1st one at 400 for 13min, 2nd at 375 for 20min and 4th at 400 for 13 min but on a lower rack. They all turned out basically the same. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Our egg tarts did not come out very well - heavy crust, thick filling and very sweet. The kitchen smelled great though! Try using a rolling pin to roll out the dough and use a mug to cut out and then put in the molds (from another recipe) for an even crust. Some of the filling over flowed and made cleaning difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States