Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The recipe as a whole doesn't get too many stars. I would give the "tart" part 5 stars, but the "egg" part only got 1, resulting in an average of 3. I used the traditional egg tart molds and there is 1/4 to a 1/3 leftover of both the egg mixture and the dough. I baked it at 450 degrees for 10, then 3, then 2, then 3 minutes. It turned out WAY too burnt, but the egg was still semi-liquidy. I then turned off the oven and let the residual heat bake the egg. Baking the egg at the high heat created a quiche-like layer at the top of the egg tart. The egg part was a little too dense, more like the egg in an American egg pie. The tart, however, was what I LOVED!! Although baking it in the high temperature caused it to burn, but i could tell that it would've been delicious if it weren't burnt. I've tried another recipe where the egg was delicious, but the tart was bland. I will try using this tart and that egg next time. That baking part of that recipe also suggested to bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes, then reduce temperature to 250 degrees for another 10 minutes. The first part is to cook the tart, and the last part is the cook the eggs without burning the tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIBITA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Tried this recipe yesterday and it tasted great! Just like the real thing back home! Hubby and kids loved them! I only used half the recipe and managed to baked 16 tarts on my muffin tray. I replaced evaporated milk with full cream milk, yummie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
the recipe for the crust does not work AT ALL. it doesn't turn into dough in anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LY babie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I was not impressed at all with the crust - but the filling tasted as good as the bakery shops in San Francisco! I used Trader Joe's puffed pastry as the crust and it tasted fantastic (it was quicker to use, too!) Highly recommended recipe, although would substitute the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTTYKAT16

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
good stuff!! yeah, you kinda have to make double the batches of dough for all the filling if you're gonna use muffin tins like we did, and y'might wanna add a little more sugar into the filling, if you like sweeter egg tarts. the sweetness is there in the original, it's just very subtle. also, we put dashes of brown sugar on top of the mixture before we popped it into the oven like they do in the philippines, and it turned out great! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
The custard was close, changed. The crust would have been way too sweet if I hadn;\'t changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
We used prepared tart shells in the frozen section of the grocery store. we're just lazy. We used 8 eggs instead of 9 eggs for the filling. We also use 3/4 cups of sugar instead of the 2/3 cups of sugar asked in the recipe. The filling never browned, we took them out when the shells started browning. I think next time we'll use less eggs. When it's freshly warm from the oven, it's not very sweet...disappointing. But I put them in a fridge over night and warmed them in the microwave and it seemed sweet enough, but not too much. The fillings was a bit firmer than the ones i've had in Chinatown. Not the best egg tarts i've had and not at all close to Chinatown egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I halved the recipe. There was indeed too much custard for the amount of dough. I derived 10 medium sized tarts from this recipe, though the leftover custard could have filled 5 more tart shells. I baked the tarts in 2 batches, the first batch was baked at 200 degrees celsius for 13 minutes. The tart shells came out perfect and golden, but the custard was overcooked on the top- there was a thick gel-like layer instead of wobbly custard goodness. I baked my second batch at 190 degrees celsius for 17 minutes; they turned out fantastically!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
The crust tasted nothing like the crust of an egg tart but was yummy nonetheless. I would have to say that while this recipe was okay tasting, it did not resemble my idea of a traditional egg tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I looked for another egg tart recipe after my previous attempt came out with a rather unpastry-like crust. This one came out better, but unfortunately the temperature was far too high and the egg custard was cooked too much. It came out rather tough and not the jelly-like texture it was supposed to have. Also, several crusts burned, but that may have been due to the fan bake mode I was using on my oven. I'll have to experiment a bit more with this recipe. For all those looking to try it, you might want to lower the temp a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States