Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I didn't need to change anything! I did have to use a muffin tin and the receipe gave perfect measurements. I didn't have anything left over. THANK YOU for sharing!! YUM! PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
here are some changes that I did: instead of 9 eggs, I did 6 Large eggs and 3 egg yolks as for the crust, I used my Grandma Kwongs recipes: 1.2C Four 1/2C margarine 1/2tsp salt 1 egg yolk mis first three ingrediants till mealy then add yolk and combine till forms soft dough...press into tart molds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
it was wonderful! Everyone I made it for loved it. The only thing different is that I bought the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Delicious treats. Very easy to make. I always end up with leftover egg filling mixture. I guess a lot depends on the type and size of tart molds you use and also desired thickness of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make! There was more crust than custard, though, so I suggest making the crust thinner and when you run out of egg mixture, make more of just the mixture to fill the extra shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It is a good recipe and I liked the final product =) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
make the crust thin, it bakes and tastes better. also, i suggest cutting the recipe for the egg custard in half, the recipe asks for way too many eggs. other than that, its mighty fun to make and to eat. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
i definitely want to try re-making this with puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This amount does make a lot of egg tarts. So the first time I made a lot of them. And I used too much dough per tart which resulted into a very thick dough. (I didn't have that many cups and didn't want to waste the dough, my fault, hehe) The second time I tried this recipe it was much better. (I toke half the amount of the recipe) Comparable to the real egg tart you buy in HK. (My bro says the most important difference is the environment, he likes the shops in HK where you can buy fresh ones just coming of the big plate, and where you can see the people working hard. PS: They actually have two egg tart styles, one with "cookie dough" and the other with puff pastry. As I am a fan of the cookie dough I am very happy with this recipe. Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This makes a LOT of tarts. I got 40 muffin-tin sized tarts. The filling was awesome - spot on - but the crust could be substituted with a different crust recipe or mayve a puff pastry shell. Don't skip the straining step. You could alternatively skim off the foam using a spoon. The taste of these gets better after they rest a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States