Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It is a good recipe and I liked the final product =) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
make the crust thin, it bakes and tastes better. also, i suggest cutting the recipe for the egg custard in half, the recipe asks for way too many eggs. other than that, its mighty fun to make and to eat. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
i definitely want to try re-making this with puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This amount does make a lot of egg tarts. So the first time I made a lot of them. And I used too much dough per tart which resulted into a very thick dough. (I didn't have that many cups and didn't want to waste the dough, my fault, hehe) The second time I tried this recipe it was much better. (I toke half the amount of the recipe) Comparable to the real egg tart you buy in HK. (My bro says the most important difference is the environment, he likes the shops in HK where you can buy fresh ones just coming of the big plate, and where you can see the people working hard. PS: They actually have two egg tart styles, one with "cookie dough" and the other with puff pastry. As I am a fan of the cookie dough I am very happy with this recipe. Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This makes a LOT of tarts. I got 40 muffin-tin sized tarts. The filling was awesome - spot on - but the crust could be substituted with a different crust recipe or mayve a puff pastry shell. Don't skip the straining step. You could alternatively skim off the foam using a spoon. The taste of these gets better after they rest a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This took a lot longer to make than expected. I made about 3 dozen mini egg tarts. I followed everything in the recipe except instead of baking at 450 degrees (which I gathered from previous reviews burnt the tarts), I baked different batches in varying temps starting with 375 (too low) and then settling with baking at 425 for the first 10 minutes and then lowering to 375 for 5 minutes and then turning it off and letting the egg custard rest in the oven for another 5 minutes. The crust doesn't have that flaky quality as in Chinatown or Hong Kong style tarts so I was disappointed. The egg custard wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These turned out very good. I just used a muffin pan. I did have a little more egg mixture left over. But not that much. I cooked on the high heat as stated, then turned my oven off to let the custard set for about 10 or 15 min. I've never had egg tarts before so I thought the whole thing turned out very nicely. You diffently can taste egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is always a big hit at the parties. I always use mini-muffin tins- this way I can make more, and everybody can have a couple bites! I lowered the temperature to 400 F and didn't heat the sugar and water. It tasted the same, if not better. Also, I used half and half the first time. I loved it, and when I used evaporated milk the second time, it just didn't taste as good. This is definitely one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainbowgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These tasted great, but similar to other reviewers, I definitely had too much egg custard filling leftover in the end. Also, I found it hard to make the crust thin enough and look pretty/uniform. Next time I make it, I will definitely use a rolling pin to make the crust thinner (instead of forming the crust with my fingers as I did this first time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Like the other review I've read the wrong amount for the evaporated canned milk, I added the entire can instead of only one cup. This was a bit tricky of how it was worded, but the egg tart still came out good. Overall, it tasted good. The shell was kind of time consuming and messy to make. It was hard to make it look pretty and even. I will try store bought philo dough next time. As for the egg custard it was tasty, I've substitute 4 whole eggs with 6 egg yolks instead to give it a more golden yellow custard color. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States