Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I only made the filling because I prefer using a crust recipe that includes lard which makes for a more flaky crust. I had previously tried another egg custard recipe where presentation wise the crust and filling looked exactly like the ones in the bakeries. The taste of the filling wasn't as tender as I would like it so I thought I would try this recipe. I was disappointed because this filling was worse than the other recipe. It was too stiff and eggy. I had baked the custard at first for 10 mins at 450F and then lowered it to 350 for additional time and the custard puffed up way too much and then collapsed when I took it out of the oven. A food expert online said baking egg custards at too high a temperature will cause the filling to bubble up and burst so next time I'm going to stick to the other recipe that calls for baking at 325F for 35 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Four stars as it was way too "eggy'. I used eight eggs [heh] and it was too eggy. But once chilled, it is pretty good, but I'd still only use seven eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe is excellent! It was my first time making egg tarts, and they turned out wonderfully =). I used 1/2 cup of sugar and unsalted butter for the crust as some other users had suggested, and it was the perfect level of sweetness/saltiness - although I'm sure that differs depending on taste. I also found that setting the oven to 180 degrees C (356 degrees F) was enough for both the crust and filling to cook properly. Thank you for such a lovely recipe!=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I only made the filling from this recipe (hence the four stars) and decided to go with frozen puff pastry for the shell, but the filling was perfect. It tasted just like the ones from the bakery. The recipe called for 9 eggs, but I only used 8 since one reviewer said they were too egg-y, but I could have gone with 9... Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was delicious! I read the other ratings beforehand and many people agreed that the sugar should be cut down as it makes the crust to sweet.. I don't think this is neccessarily correct; it depends on your tastes for me I thought there was a perfect amount of sugar. It rlly was like eatting shortbread (:! I think this crust will be my shortbread recipe for nao on Haha ^-^ it quite delicious~ The only problem I encounterred was that the crust seemed to finish backing before the egg so I ended up with a few egg tarts that had brown, brunt crusts. Other than that this was rlly easy to put together! I'd also like to stay that when I read the other reviews I expected the egg tarts to taste like the bakery ones. The egg filling tastes a bit different, the egg flavour has been to diluted, in the future for the egg filling I would recommend using 12 egg yolks rather than 9 eggs, 1 1/2 cup of milk rather than 1 1/2 cups of water, and 3/4 cups of condensed milk rather than 1 cup of evaporated milk. I don't know why none of the other reviewers noticed the egg filling tasted different but my family sure did! Thanks for the recipe :) ; easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
these were great! my family knows our chinese dim sum and these were pretty close to it. cut the filling recipe in half and add more sugar. i suggest baking it at 450 for 10 minutes and then lowering the temperature to 250 for another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used the muffin pan and it worked well. I can't leave it in for 15 minutes tho. Just 13 and the filling needs more sugar for sure. It's just what I'm used to after eating egg tarts from all over Chicago and LA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I'm Chinese living in LA's 2nd Chinatown and I'm surprised that it came out like the one in restaurants. This is the REAL stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I didn't need to change anything! I did have to use a muffin tin and the receipe gave perfect measurements. I didn't have anything left over. THANK YOU for sharing!! YUM! PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
here are some changes that I did: instead of 9 eggs, I did 6 Large eggs and 3 egg yolks as for the crust, I used my Grandma Kwongs recipes: 1.2C Four 1/2C margarine 1/2tsp salt 1 egg yolk mis first three ingrediants till mealy then add yolk and combine till forms soft dough...press into tart molds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States