Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My first attempt at making my own Egg Tarts. I read the reviews about more filling than the dough for the crust so I halved the filling. But guess what, I ended up with too much dough for the crust. I made 12 tarts using a muffin pan, using up all the filling but had dough left over. I agree that 425 degrees is too high a temperature so I baked it at 375 degrees instead. Perfect! Jello-like custard filling with a crust that's not too sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamerica
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I used the store bought frozen tart shells (in the section where the frozen pie crusts are), which makes this recipe easy and quick to make. I gave it four stars only because I have yet to make the shell myself and the store bought ones doesn't match the egg filling as well. This recipe yields 24 of the store bought frozen tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamerica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
these were super easy to make and my husband loved them. he kept asking where i bought them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
These were delicious! I cut the recipe in half and used one store bought pie crust (cut into rounds with a glass and put into a greased muffin tin) to make 12 little tarts. I still had some filling leftover, so I think next time I will make 1/3 of the original recipe. I baked them for 13 minutes at 400 degrees, and they came out perfect. The custard was silky smooth and light, and the crust was flaky and just barely golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
The custard came out perfect. Tasted exactly like the ones you buy in Chinatown. Although, the crust wasn't flaky and came out more like a cookie...it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made this today and I think I added too much evaporated milk because the custard didn't taste very eggy at all. I'll try reducing the milk next time. The crust however was perfect! Although I made it too thick and like another reviewer said, if my crusts were thinner, it would've burned in the high heat. There were too much custard filling as well! I'm going to have to make more crust to use up the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
My mom and I tried this yesterday, and we thought the filling looked very watery, but it turned out great! other than the fact that we were short on the dough and used a dish to make a very large egg tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I tried using this recipe but face some problems from the start when I went to purchase the INGREDIENTS. I couldn't find CONFECTIONER'S SUGAR OR ALL-PURPOSE FLOUR. Maybe it's because the ingredients are different here. I had to use Self Raising Flour which didn't turn out the way it should, like the picture. I also have plenty of eggs left from the 9 eggs that were beaten. I thought it would be easy but it wasn't as easy as I thought. Could you tell me if its ok to use SELF RAISING FLOUR and should I purchase foil styled baking cases? As I found the paper baking cases weren't as good as the egg pours out of the tart. The tart also raise to high that it burns so fast at the top but that's because I've been using SELF RAISING FLOUR because I couldn't find ALL-PURPOSE FLOUR. Anyway, I hope you can help as I love Chinese Egg Tarts and want to learn how to make it so I can share with my friends and family. It cost 80p each for a Chinese Egg Tart here in Scotland and that's very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This recipe was a failure because the temperature was way too high...my eggs were overcooked and chewy. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
These were pretty good, and easy to make. I cheated a little and used a glass to make round crusts from a pre-made pie crust. Warning though, I made 36 egg tarts and threw away some of the egg filling, this recipe makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States